Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-01-2011
Message 1 of 17 (4,001 Views)

cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

Getting error when trying to activate scan to computer. The printer is connected to the network, i can print. I ran the scanner diagnostic tool and it showed the wsp error. Not sure what to do next.

Thanks for any help

0 Kudos
Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 2 of 17 (3,983 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

Tell me about your router brand/model.

 

What operating system?

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-01-2011
Message 3 of 17 (3,980 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

[ Edited ]

Router is a Belkin F5d7230-4. I'm running Vista on aThinkpadR61i

 

It's actuall the WIA scan that gets the error.

 

Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 4 of 17 (3,959 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

OK, does scanning from your PC work?  Does scanning from the printer work immediately after scanning TO the PC?

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-01-2011
Message 5 of 17 (3,951 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

No scanning. I get the error scanner unreachable. scanning communication cannot be established

Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 17 (3,945 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

OK, have you disabled your security system's firewall and tried again?

 

You could also try this utility.

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-01-2011
Message 7 of 17 (3,908 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

thanks,

That is  the scan utility that gives the error. Firewall is set to allow all HP programs. I have also tried with the firewall completely off.

I cannot scan from the scanner because it says the "Activate scanner to computer" is not activated.

Thanks

Provost
Posts: 20,467
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 8 of 17 (3,900 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

Did you set your security system's firewall or Windows firewall?

I am employed by HP

Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-01-2011
Message 9 of 17 (3,885 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

Trying now to set the AVG firewall?

Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-01-2011
Message 10 of 17 (3,881 Views)

Re: cannot activate scan to computer HpB210

Not a firewall setting on my version of AVG. I tried disableing the AVG 'online shield' and 'resident shield' and the connect to scanner would still not connect. I uninstalled and reinstalled the hp driver software and I'm still getting the error when trying to establish the 'connect to scanner' application. The printer is on the wireless network as i am still able to print.

thanks

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation