Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Highlighted
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-14-2017
Message 1 of 9 (432 Views)
Accepted Solution

can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

[ Edited ]
Product Name: Envy 7640
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I am unable to copy a full size page 8x10 page or make any other copies because I am getting the error message "Copy does not support envelope #10". (I AM SETTING THE PRINTER TO COPY 8X10) I have FOLLOWED the basic instructions on paper setting to no avail. I do not have any envelopes in the printer, I have tried to reset the settings to 8x10 paper to no eval.   I have disconnected the printer a/c jack for 30 minutes and restarted. I have reset the printer to all default settings, I have verified are NO envelopes in the printer or stuck paper in it. Please help, I don't know what else to try. Thanks

 

These are the instructions that do not work so solve the error message.

Copy documents. The Copy menu on the printer display allows you to easily select number of copies and color or black and white for copying on plain paper. You can also easily access advanced settings, such as changing the paper type and size, adjusting the darkness of the copy, and resizing the copy. Make a 1-sided copy Load the original print side up into the document feeder, or load the original print side down on the right front corner of the scanner glass..2.Specify number of copies and settings. From the Home screen, touch Copy, Flick to the desired number of copies. If the value for the 2–Sided option is 1:2 , touch to select 1:1. Touch Settings to specify paper size, paper type, quality, or other settings. Touch (BACK) to return to the Copy screen. 3.Touch Black or Color to start the copy job (FAIL BECAUSE OF ERROR MESSAGE)

Reply
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

@Mike165

 

You're welcome. I appreciate you taking your valuable time to troubleshoot this issue. Smiley Happy

 

As @Dvortex is out of the office today, I'm replying to you. 

 

I have sent you a private message with the steps to reset your HP ENVY 7640 e-All-in-One Printer. 

 

Once the reset is complete, please try to make a copy. If the error continues to appear the please update the printer firmware via this link: http://hp.care/2mG6h3o

 

I sincerely hope this fixes the issue. Keep me posted. Cheers!

View solution in context
HP Support Agent
Posts: 7,747
Member Since: ‎10-12-2016
Message 2 of 9 (390 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

Greetings @Mike165,

 

Welcome to HP Forums and Thanks for the post. 

 

I understand that you are unable to copy on size 10 envelopes. 

Don't worry, I will be glad to assist you. 

Are you able to scan to your computer?

Are you able to print or copy on regular paper?

 

Based on the specifications on your printer, the printer does support Size 10 envelope. Click here

As you are unable to make a copy on the envelope. As a workaround, scan whatever you want to print on the envelope to your computer and then print to the envelope. 

I suggest this as a workaround as you can select the correct paper size and type from your computer. 

HP Printers - Printing Envelopes (Mac)

HP Printers - Printing Envelopes (Windows)

Click here for the printer manual. 

 

Let me know if this helped. 

 

If the information I've provided was helpful,

Please give us some reinforcement by clicking the "Accepted Solution" and "Kudos" buttons,

That’ll help us and others see that we’ve got the answers!

Good Luck.

Chimney_83
I am an HP Employee

If you found this post helpful, you can let others know by clicking the Accept as Solution button. You can also show your appreciation, with a kudos, by clicking the Thumbs up" button!

Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-14-2017
Message 3 of 9 (368 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

Thanks for your suggestions. These are the instruction that I have been already exactley been following which has caused the error message. I am setting the paper for 8x10, I do not have any envelopes in the printer but am getting this error message. Note please, I am not trying to copy or print an envelope. I am trying to  copy a standard 8x10 copy with this error message.

HP Support Agent
Posts: 9,011
Member Since: ‎07-14-2016
Message 4 of 9 (353 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

Hello, @Mike165

 

Thanks for the update! I would like to jump in with a suggestion Smiley Happy

 

I understand that you are trying to make a standard copy of 8*10 on your printer. Please try the steps below:

 

  • Place the regular 8*10 paper in the paper tray and the document you wish to copy in the ADF or the scanner bed.
  • Press copy and go to the copy settings.
  • Under copy menu, go to "Tray/Paper Management" and scroll down to the "Restore Settings" option.
  • Restore the settings and then simply start the copy and check.

 

If the message is still stuck on the screen, try doing a power drain to remove the same. Here are the steps:

 

·         With the printer turned on, disconnect the power cord from the rear of the printer and also unplug the power cord from the wall outlet.

·         Remove USB cable, if present.

·         Wait for 2-3 minutes, press and hold the power button on your printer for about 30 seconds to remove any additional charge.

·         Now plug back the power cable straight to a wall outlet without any surge protector or an extension cord (This is important) and then plug back the power cord to the printer.

·         Turn on the printer and wait till warm-up period finishes and the printer is idle.

 

 

Now repeat the steps I mentioned above. 

 

 

Please let me know if this resolves the issue, or if you require further assistance!

Good luck Smiley Happy


Please click "Accepted as Solution" on the post that solves your issue to help others find the solution. To show appreciation for my help, please click the "Thumbs Up Icon" below!

DVortex
I am an HP Employee

Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-14-2017
Message 5 of 9 (344 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

Thanks for the suggestions unfortunatly they did not resolve the issue.  I tried each fix numerous times but the same error message returns as soon as I try to make a copy.

HP Support Agent
Posts: 7,592
Member Since: ‎07-27-2016
Message 6 of 9 (326 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

@Mike165

 

You're welcome. I appreciate you taking your valuable time to troubleshoot this issue. Smiley Happy

 

As @Dvortex is out of the office today, I'm replying to you. 

 

I have sent you a private message with the steps to reset your HP ENVY 7640 e-All-in-One Printer. 

 

Once the reset is complete, please try to make a copy. If the error continues to appear the please update the printer firmware via this link: http://hp.care/2mG6h3o

 

I sincerely hope this fixes the issue. Keep me posted. Cheers!

MKazi
I am an HP Employee

If you find this post helpful then you can help others find the same solution by clicking the Accept as Solution button. You can also show your appreciation, with a kudos, by clicking the Thumbs up" button!

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎05-09-2017
Message 7 of 9 (226 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

This hasn't helped me either.  Have been redoing this for 2.5 hours now.  This Envy 4520 is only 1.4 years old and NOW it doesn't make copies.  Great Product HP!

HP Support Agent
Posts: 8,475
Member Since: ‎07-26-2016
Message 8 of 9 (212 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

Hi @Whispurr,

 

Thank you for showing your interest in HP Support Forums. It is a great place to find the help you need, from other users, HP experts, and other support personnel. For you to have the best experience on the HP forum, you could also visit our HP Forums Guide for the First Time Here? Learn How to Post and More.

 

I see from the post that you are having issues copying. Don't worry as I have a few steps to help you get through this concern,

 

To provide you with an accurate solution, I'll need a few more details:

Does that Scanner bulb light up?

Does the scanner bar move when you open the lid & press the copy button?

Have you checked if the unit can make a standalone copy? If ‘YES’ then it means the scanning hardware of the All-in-One works fine.

Do you get any error message on the printer screen or on the computer screen?

Are you able to print a test page from the printer?

 

In the meantime, let's start off by performing a Hard reset on the printer and make sure that the printer is connected directly to the wall outlet and not to the surge protector.

 

With the printer turned on, disconnect the power cord from the rear of the printer and also unplug the power cord from the wall outlet.

Remove USB cable, if present.

Wait for 2-3 minutes, press and hold the power button on your printer for about 30 seconds to remove any additional charge.

Now plug back the power cable straight to a wall outlet without any surge protector or an extension cord and then plug back the power cord to the printer.

Turn on the printer and wait till warm-up period finishes and the printer is idle.

 

Please go through the Product specifications for your printer, using this link.

 

As you are unable to make a copy on the envelope. As a workaround, scan whatever you want to print on the envelope to your computer and then print to the envelope. 

I suggest this as a workaround as you can select the correct paper size and type from your computer. 

HP Printers - Printing Envelopes (Mac)

HP Printers - Printing Envelopes (Windows)

 

Let me know if this helped. 

 

If the information I've provided was helpful,

Please give us some reinforcement by clicking the "Accepted Solution" and "Kudos" buttons,

That’ll help us and others see that we’ve got the answers!

Good Luck.

 

 

Jeet_Singh
I am an HP Employee

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎05-09-2017
Message 9 of 9 (209 Views)

Re: can not copy "Copy does not support envelope

I had tried all that listed.  Finally I decided to get rid of the printer.  

 

Phoned Instant Ink and told them to discontinue my subscription.  The person at Instant Ink sent me to Tech Support.  Instead of the $20 one-time-charge for support, I was given the solution because I subscribe to Instant Ink.  How nice is that?  So happy.  

 

That fellow solved my problem.  I had to partially reset the menu by first finding a secret menu that I didn't even know I had.  From the home screen, I had to hold the "back button" area (back button wasn't shown) in for three seconds to get to the menu and had to scroll down to do a partial reset.  Anyway, it is working fine and I got rid of that bad copy error that was plaguing me.

Thanks,

Pam

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation