Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎07-21-2014
Message 1 of 6 (808 Views)

Creating a duplicated "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation" using HP-UX B10.20

Hello,

   My computer is HP B2600 Workstation, OS is HP-UX B10.20. I have a "Install tape" , now i want to create a duplicated "install tape". Could anyone help me?

Reply
0
Tutor
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎06-26-2001
Message 2 of 6 (796 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicated "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation" using HP-UX B10.20

Your install tape is probably an Ignite backup image.  If you have Ignite installed you can use the command "copy_boot_tape".  There are options to copy from tape drive to tape drive or from tape drive to a file and then from the file to the tape drive.  See the man page.

 

if you are not sure of the contents then it may be an "it depends" answer.  Using 'dd' may be the best choice, but maybe not.

 

Search this forum for "DDS tape to tape copy" and you will see what I mean.

 

-Bob

Master's Graduate
Posts: 1,066
Member Since: ‎10-03-2009
Message 3 of 6 (777 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

>Using 'dd' may be the best choice, but maybe not.

 

I don't think dd(1) will work because you need to copy variable length records and copy the EOF marks, until EOT.

Highlighted
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎07-21-2014
Message 4 of 6 (752 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

Thank for your reply. I've tried with these commands and it's work:

  (insert the install tape into the tape drive)

  dd if=/dev/rmt/0mn of=/var/tmp/f1 bs=2k

  dd if=/dev/rmt/0m of=/var/tmp/f2 bs=10k

(insert blank tape now)

  dd if=/var/tmp/f1 of=/dev/rmt/0mn bs=2k

  dd  if=/var/tmp/f2 of=/dev/rmt/0m bs=10k

Tutor
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎06-26-2001
Message 5 of 6 (744 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

The dd commands worked, but did you confirm that the tape works as you expect?

 

As Dennis points out variable record lengths would not be copied correctly using 'dd', so its worth checking if you have not done so.

 

-Bob

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎07-21-2014
Message 6 of 6 (726 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

Hi.

   It's worked like everything i wanted. Because that tape only has 02 block size: 2k and 10k. So dd command can duplicate everything  with 2k and 10k block.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation