Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Kokumotsu
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎08-26-2011
Message 1 of 16 (4,408 Views)
Accepted Solution

Getting a new case, i need Front Panel pinout!

[ Edited ]

i have an Hp Pavilion Elite HPE500y. and i am looking to upgrade my Graphics card (GPU) and Power supply(PSU), but in order for me to do that the PSU i am getting is too long for my case and that there will not be enough room between my disc drive and psu (they will be touching).
here is my motherboard:http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c02560084
so i am deciding to get a new case.
now i havent bought anything yet  but in correlation i need to know some info.
This is my  motherboard and what i am needing to know is if i can get a Front Panel Pinout of the board so i can hook the case wireing to the HDD Led, Power, Reset etc. 
ive searched my hardest and i cant find anything about the pinout of the Front panel, i cant even find a servive manual about the motherboard besides on how to reset CMOS and Bios password

can someone please help me out 

Associate Dean
wb2001
Posts: 4,950
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 2 of 16 (4,364 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

Kokumotsu,

 

Are you sure you bought the proper supply? I really suspect you found a 6" deep PSU.
The original PSU measurements are 3.3" x 5.8" x 5.5" (H x W x D). Actually most vendors state 3.4" x 5.9" x 5.5" (H x W x D). The 5.5" depth is the critical issue, as you found.

 

Original PSU: http://www.censuspc.com/Hipro-HP-D3057F3R-HP-5188-2625--350-Watt--Replacement-Power-Supply-Bulk-P-N-...

 

You did not mention your choice for a graphics card choice. You need to select a PSU that meets the cabling (plugs) and wattage, here are examples of PSU that will fit the case. Note the plugs.

530W: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182199

630W: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182200

 

 

 

The Law of Effect states that positive reinforcement increases the probability of a behavior being repeated. (B.F.Skinner). You toss me points, and I perform better.

To say THANK YOU, press the white "thumbs up" on the left, to render a KUDO.
Please click Accept as Solution, just to the right of my reply if your problem is solved.
You can render both Solution and KUDO

(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t CTO,Win7 Pro 32 bit. 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD SATA 3Gb/s
Custom Asus P8P67, I7-2600k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX660 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W Corsair, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Custom Asus P8Z77, I7-3770k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX670 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W Corsair, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Printer -- OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus



Top Student
Kokumotsu
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎08-26-2011
Message 3 of 16 (4,359 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

PSU-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341017   
its deminsions are 5.9" x 3.4" x 6.5"   also your deminsons are placed wrong. switch the first and second measurements around

chose this beause its modulated and  the cables are very easy to work with as you only use what you need

 

and the GPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150505

my original PSU is a crap 300W
 

also i havent bought anything yet till i can get a pinout. as i was told by many that i can put the casing pins in just fine, but do not know the layout of the face panel pins

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,211
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 16 (4,341 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

Hi K,

 

Perhaps this image will help.

 

HP Alvorix front panel pin outs.jpg

 

 

There seems to be some discrepancies in the HP documentation so double check the front panel connector on your PC against the above image.  If necessary, use a magnifying glass and read the etchings off the motherboard (if there are any).

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
Kokumotsu
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎08-26-2011
Message 5 of 16 (4,339 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

before i flip out and praise you. i forgot to add the link to my mobo
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c02560084
. if you would please check it out Big Dave
as ive searched for hours on end, and the only thing that i could find was stuff for intel, or look at the service manual which doesnt come with most OEM stuff.

it looks like my mobo, i hope it is that way  my problem will be solved and kudos will bve given 

Top Student
Kokumotsu
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎08-26-2011
Message 6 of 16 (4,323 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

Big Dave: THAT IS EXACTLY IT. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH
+Kudos  

Associate Dean
wb2001
Posts: 4,950
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 16 (4,318 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

Kokumotsu,

My measurements were not wrong. All ATX has a nominal of 5.9" across the back (W), and 3.4" tall (H).

Vendors can state it any way they like, but it is understood. If you can not related to that premise, so be it.

 

 

NewEgg: 5.9" x 3.4" x 6.5"

Even OCZ has it different ways:

150 x 160 x 86mm (W x L x H)  equals 5.9"W x 6.3L x 3.4"H, then they restate it as : 5.9W x 3.4"H x 6.3"D

OCZ:http://www.ocztechnology.com/res_old/manuals/psu/OCZMXSP500-700.pdf

 

My humble selection was a single rail, and the 630W version matched your needs, and negated buying a case, worrying about panel wiring.

The main issue I noted was your selection, and it's a 2 rail PSU. That requires balancing the lines.

 

Had Big-Dave noted your PSU selection had 2 rails, he would have said a single rail is better. I know his views on that situation.

 

Hope you have a fun day!

The Law of Effect states that positive reinforcement increases the probability of a behavior being repeated. (B.F.Skinner). You toss me points, and I perform better.

To say THANK YOU, press the white "thumbs up" on the left, to render a KUDO.
Please click Accept as Solution, just to the right of my reply if your problem is solved.
You can render both Solution and KUDO

(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t CTO,Win7 Pro 32 bit. 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD SATA 3Gb/s
Custom Asus P8P67, I7-2600k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX660 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W Corsair, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Custom Asus P8Z77, I7-3770k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX670 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W Corsair, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Printer -- OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus



Top Student
Kokumotsu
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎08-26-2011
Message 8 of 16 (4,308 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

..... how can i do that when everything i need is hardwired . the only thing that i would need would be the sata power cables for HDD and disc drive
and im not running crossfire, or sli. 

Associate Dean
wb2001
Posts: 4,950
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 9 of 16 (4,293 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

Kokumostu,

My system does not have crossfire or sli. Those are just features in the readiness of the cabling (plugs). What you do not need, you do not connect.

 

My m8100CTO needed a new PSU (old 350W burned-out), and I opted for the Rosewill 530W.

Your choice of graphic card pushed the envelope, so I recommnded the Rosewill 630W.

It is the proper sized PSU for your original case. You will have less hassle with it.

 

Do you really have the ability and patience to completely swap out all the components.

Have you checked the case that you selected? Do you realize that the front panel wiring will be different?

HP used 2 pin plugs in a cluster. What if the new panel has a 3pin plug for the power LED

 

.Rosewill Control IO.jpg

The Law of Effect states that positive reinforcement increases the probability of a behavior being repeated. (B.F.Skinner). You toss me points, and I perform better.

To say THANK YOU, press the white "thumbs up" on the left, to render a KUDO.
Please click Accept as Solution, just to the right of my reply if your problem is solved.
You can render both Solution and KUDO

(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t CTO,Win7 Pro 32 bit. 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD SATA 3Gb/s
Custom Asus P8P67, I7-2600k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX660 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W Corsair, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Custom Asus P8Z77, I7-3770k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX670 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W Corsair, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Printer -- OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus



Regents Professor
Hanspuppa
Posts: 4,494
Member Since: ‎09-04-2009
Message 10 of 16 (4,285 Views)

Re: New casing need Front Panel Pinout

[ Edited ]

Hello Kokumotsu, You may also need to be aware that the HP motherboard in your system is not a standard Micro-ATX motherboard.

The mounting holes are different than most other Micro-ATX motherboards.

 

Below are some photos of the differences in the HP motherboards and a standard Retail Micro-ATX motherboard.

 

What this means is that your new case may not accept the HP motherboard from your HP case. Many Retail cases do have mounting holes for different motherboards, but I would be certain your new case would allow for the proper mounting of the HP motherboard, before I made the purchase.

 

The photo shows a Compaq motherboard, but if you look at your motherboard, it essentially has the same mounting holes.

 

Compaq-Micro-ATX-Motherboard.jpg

_____________________________________________

Please click the White Kudos star on the left, to say thanks.

Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem.
_____________________________________________

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation