Question
Reply
 
Tutor
Overlord_
Posts: 15
Member Since: ‎06-02-2011
Message 1 of 9 (2,677 Views)

XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Hey all, I'm trying to get a 64bit version of XP on this dc7900.

Downloads give me squat.

Lists various versions of Win7, Vista, and XP pro.

 

Granted my XP is XP Professional, but it says nothing about 32 or 64 bit drivers.

 

Anyone have any luck finding XP 64bit drivers?

------------------------------
The equipment will not respect you, until it fears you!
Provost
banhien
Posts: 32,380
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 9 (2,659 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900


Overlord_ wrote:

Anyone have any luck finding XP 64bit drivers?


Hi,

 

You are not alone, people have to work around, piece by piece from the following links:

 

  1. http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_xp-hardware/using-an-hp-dc7900-with-windows...
  2. http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Deskpro-EVO/DC7900-driver-audio-Soundmax-for-XP64/td-p/104...
  3. http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Deskpro-EVO/XP-64-audio-driver-for-dc7900-sff/td-p/2357849
  4. http://boardreader.com/thread/Using_an_HP_DC7900_with_Windows_XP_Pro_6_5aoah__0bf97567-0ace-4cc6-97e...
  5. http://www.driversforfree.com/omn_ofm_omd_os/hp/hp-compaq-dc/7900-small-form-factor/windows-xp-64-bi...

Good luck,

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Tutor
Overlord_
Posts: 15
Member Since: ‎06-02-2011
Message 3 of 9 (2,653 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Oh joy!

 

Decided to install this XP64 on an SSD and it already gives me blue screens.

 

Thanks for the links.... and the info.....

 

This is going to be a long road.....

------------------------------
The equipment will not respect you, until it fears you!
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,383
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 9 (2,652 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Hi:

 

Banhein is right regarding XP x64.

 

You probably can get all the drivers but it will take perseverance. A lot of detective work.

 

Start out by installing the chipset driver and rebooting.

 

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=20019&lang=eng&OSVersion=Windows%20XP...=

 

Graphics (Integrated)

 

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=19684&ProdId=2998&lang=eng&OSVersion=...

 

Please read the notes on this Microsoft link first regarding fixing HD audio problems under XP x 64. I don't know if you need to run this first or install the audio driver first...I'm not gonna do all the work for ya and ruin your fun.  :smileyhappy:

 

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=15638

 

Audio:

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=US&swItem=PSG_I2...

 

Network: If you have the Intel Gigabit like my dc7800...select the second file on the list.

 

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=18717&lang=eng&OSVersion=Windows%20XP...

 

64 bit Infineon TPM driver:

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=US&swItem=vc-649...

 

AMT driver:

 

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=13935&keyword=Intel+AMT+LMS_SOL&Downl...

 

Hopefully, that will get most of them.

 

Please post back if you need any others.  Include the device details ID found by clicking on each device in the device manager then click on the details tab. Post the top string of characters you see there.

 

Paul

Tutor
Overlord_
Posts: 15
Member Since: ‎06-02-2011
Message 5 of 9 (2,642 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Fun.... yes, I'm having more fun than I bargained on.....

 

Currently editing my XP64 disk to include the ACHI drivers so the OS can even access my new C drive.

Doesn't help when it gripes at me that it can't find a floppy drive for the drivers.

Downloaded the drivers for my chipset and SP2 whilest I'm at it.  Might as well get as much stuff in the install as I can.

 

Thanks for the links!

------------------------------
The equipment will not respect you, until it fears you!
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,383
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 6 of 9 (2,636 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Hi:

 

Can you put them on a USB flash drive and select the ACHI driver you need from there? 

 

I have always used a USB FDD to do this, but I don't see why you can use a Flash drive.

 

You have nothing to lose by giving it a try.  Do you know the name of the ACHI controller in the dc7900?

 

You can just Hit the F6 key at the XP F6 prompt from the list of drivers.

 

I use the up/down arrow keys to select the correct ACHI driver when XP asks for it. It loads the files, stops and then asks you to press S to load the driver and your USB drive should show up with the files.

 

Paul

Tutor
Overlord_
Posts: 15
Member Since: ‎06-02-2011
Message 7 of 9 (2,633 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Hi:

 

Can you put them on a USB flash drive and select the ACHI driver you need from there? 

 

I have always used a USB FDD to do this, but I don't see why you can use a Flash drive.

 

You have nothing to lose by giving it a try.  Do you know the name of the ACHI controller in the dc7900?

 

You can just Hit the F6 key at the XP F6 prompt from the list of drivers.

 

I use the up/down arrow keys to select the correct ACHI driver when XP asks for it. It loads the files, stops and then asks you to press S to load the driver and your USB drive should show up with the files.

 

Paul

 

 

Perhaps being this antique 64 bit XP.... dunno.

When I got to hitting the "S" key the disk said, "Hey, I don't see any floppy! Hit ESC to do what I want, hit F3 to call it a day"

(OK, paraphrased a little bit).  It ignores my USB stick.

 

The previous drive has a Vista installation on it.  Might try hooking it in and stashing all my drivers on it.... assuming I can get to it during the driver install phase.  This Nlite shows promise.  Free util and slipstreams SP2, drivers, hotfixes, patches, and whatnot into the install files and saves it as an ISO.  Hopefully I'll get the action above if it resides on the disk and I can select it.  South Bridge according to pdf is 82801 ICH10-D0.  CPUZ via Vista calls it 82801JB.  Chipset claims Q45.  Would be nice if I could just pull up an Intel MB page and have all the drivers there.

 

May have to disable ACHI in BIOS and see if it'll treat the SSD like a regular HD and install that way.

It will happen tho......

I refer you to my tagline.....

------------------------------
The equipment will not respect you, until it fears you!
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,383
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 8 of 9 (2,630 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Well, live and learn. 

 

I guess you need a FDD. I have a USB floppy disk.  Worth its weight in gold for DOS stuff.

 

I used it to install XPP on my HP 8200 Elite.

 

Hit the S key, floppy showed up and I selected the SATA ACHi driver I needed.

 

Off to the races.

 

I know selecting IDE mode works just fine with a regular HDD. I don't know about a solid state one.

 

Adding the SATA ACHI driver after you install XP is easy. I have done it that way many times too.

 

Paul

Tutor
Overlord_
Posts: 15
Member Since: ‎06-02-2011
Message 9 of 9 (2,587 Views)

Re: XP 64bit drivers for DC7900

Well......

Edited my XP disk to slipstream SP2 and the ACHI drivers, made and burned an iso and installed XP 64-bit.

Got it installed.

Pulled Intel's video driver for their Q45 chipset and got it installed.

Installed the gigabit LAN driver 82567LM-3 with no problems.

 

Everything fine except for 3 things.

PCI Serial Port: don't use it and will be pulling the cable and disabling it in the BIOS anyway.

 

PCI simple communications controller; SOL thingy

 

Still getting my ass kicked by the audio......

I've been in the system looking for chip markings....

Identical system running Win 7 ultimate 64 claims Soundmax but....

I've got every error message known to man.  With great soundmax 64bit drivers drivers windows claims it can't install those drivers because it can't find software to go with them.  Drivers claiming to  be xp64 windows made fun of and claimed they weren't.  Drivers swearing they were for the chip claimed they were not compatible.  The one time I got drivers manually installed they wouldn't run because of the dreaded error 10 which basically means the phase of the moon is wrong or I'm bloated and retaining water this week try again some other day.  It's like shaking a Magic 8 ball.

 

Installed, uninstalled, installed automatically, manually, downloaded 115+ windows updates, booted, rebooted, cussed, taken aspirin, sacrificed 2 chickens in the backyard, smoked several packs of cigarettes,

 

Now I've downloaded drivers for an intel board that some claim was based on the HP 3031H.  Granted the pdf for the board looks nothing like it.

 

I'll let you know.....

------------------------------
The equipment will not respect you, until it fears you!
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation