Question

Honor Student
Nphekt
Message 1 of 9 (12,702 Views)

I wish to disable Switchable Graphics on a DV7-4030ed

First of all, thanks for reading this post. I recently bought a HP DV7-4030ed, i'm a graphic/game designer and i work a lot with different kinds of game engines, and this means that i want to have my drivers updated. I always plug in my pc, so i don't use my Intel gpu a lot. Sadly, Catalyst isn't compatible with intel switchable graphics. And i still got my warranty, so i don't want to flash my BIOS. If you know how to solve this, please reply. 

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Message 2 of 9 (12,696 Views)

Re: I wish to disable Switchable Graphics on a DV7-4030ed

There is no way to disable the Switchable Graphics....if you can stop the switching from happening...Unchecking 'Automatically select power-saving GPU when on battery' in Configure Switchable Graphic Panel....

configure.png

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Honor Student
Nphekt
Message 3 of 9 (12,691 Views)

I already did that. That AND disabling the intel GPU with the device manager. But that just switches the Switchable Graphics to a a Catalyst button (that doesn't work) 

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Message 4 of 9 (12,679 Views)

Nphekt wrote:

But that just switches the Switchable Graphics to a a Catalyst button (that doesn't work) 

My Apologies, but I did not get the above statement, are you saying that you are not able to switch manually after doing that change?

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Tutor
shineangelic
Message 5 of 9 (12,393 Views)

[ Edited ]

And what to do if  "Configure Switchable Graphic Panel" doesn't work??

Switchable Graphics is a bit crappy IMHO.