Pease help!! battery issue. "plugged in, not charging" (193714 Views)
Honor Student
benja
Message 1 of 39 (193,714 Views)

Pease help!! battery issue. "plugged in, not charging"

Hello, 

I have a dv6628us notebook with windows vista 32 bit.  I’ve had this notebook 13 months. About 4 days ago it started saying, "plugged in, not charging." The only time it will charge is when the computer is fully shut down. I am a student and need my PC working ASAP! I called support and told me my 1 year warranty is over and that they could not help but told me to try the online chat support. After talking online to them and doing my own research online, I've done all the following steps...  

Step 1: Power drain.
1. Disconnect the AC Adapter.
2. Remove the Battery.
3. Hold the Power button down for 30 seconds to 1 minute.
4. Replace the battery and Reconnect the AC adapter.
5. Turn on the Notebook power.

After doing this step… the problem still persists.

Step 2: Battery test;
Follow the steps below to check the battery status.
1. Connect the AC adapter to your notebook PC. The notebook PC must be on AC power in order for HP Battery Check utility to function properly.
2. Click Start and type Total Care in the Search field and press Enter.
3. Click Battery. The condition of the battery displays
4. Click Launch HP Battery Check for more information. The HP Battery Check displays the status of the notebook PC battery.

After doing to battery test the result was, “invalid.”  Then stated, “The battery health is not valid when the ac power adapter is not attached. Please insert the ac power adapter and wait a few seconds for status to be updated”

The ac power cord is connected!  

The next step we tried was to update the bios. After downloading the latest version of bios off the hp website and running through the steps I got the following result… 

bios update failed
winflash can not run in battery mode, plug in ac and try again
bios is not flashable
error code -144