Question
Reply
 
Top Student
gened50
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-17-2012
Message 1 of 10 (5,639 Views)

Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

I've got a brand new h8-1280t system and I'm trying to create a 64bit VMWare image but I get the error message saying the image can't be run in 64bit mode because the VT setting in the BIOS isn't set. I've tried F1 to get into the BIOS but that gives me a boot menu. I've also tried F10 but that gets me into the HP setup menu and that has nothing there for the standard BIOS settings. How do I get into the BIOS settings for this system? Thanks!

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,308
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 2 of 10 (5,628 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

Hi:

 

The setup menu (F10) is the BIOS menu.

 

You may find the VT option in the power settings.

 

Paul

Top Student
gened50
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-17-2012
Message 3 of 10 (5,626 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

Thanks Paul for your response. Unfortunately, I don't find anything about VT or virtual settings in the BIOS. It seems ridiculous that I have a very advanced machine but apparently can't utilize a feature of the CPU because the BIOS software wont let me.

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,308
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 10 (5,624 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

That's unfortunate.

 

I would think there would be a VT setting as long as the processor was VT capable.

 

And I can't think of many processors today that aren't.

 

Did you check the security menu?  On HP business desktops the VT setting is in the security menu.

 

Is there a device configuration menu?  On HP notebooks the setting is there.

 

I have been told that the setting on HP consumer desktops is in the Power Options menu, which is why I suggested you look in there.

 

I only own HP business desktops and notebooks, so I do not have first hand knowledge of a HP Consumer desktop BIOS menu layout.

 

Paul

Top Student
gened50
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-17-2012
Message 5 of 10 (5,622 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

I checked the security menu because that's where I found it on my ThinkPad laptop but it's not there. I saw a screen shot in the forum in answer to a user having the same problem on his/her h8-1010. On that system under Security->System Security there are two entries, one of them being the VTx/VTd setting. On my system it has the same menu but only one item on it and, of course, it's not the VTx/VTd setting. My processor is a i7-3960X which, according to the Intel web site, supports VT. This is among the latest processors (6 core, 12 hyper-threads, 3.33Ghz) coming out of Intel. It's my hope that this is simply an oversight that will be addressed in a BIOS update. If not, perhaps it's time to look at what Dell has to offer.

Top Student
gened50
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-17-2012
Message 6 of 10 (5,617 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

Just got off an online chat with "HP Support Specialist" and he couldn't resolve this problem either. It ended when he said I had 21 days to return it.

 

If there is anyone from HP monitoring this forum and they can assure me that there is a BIOS update in the works that will fix this problem I'll stay with this machine. If not I'll return my $3000 machine and see what Dell has to offer.

Intern
kupaku48
Posts: 21
Member Since: ‎01-05-2012
Message 7 of 10 (5,607 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

 

 Dont know if this will help you but If your mobo is IPIWB-PB (Pittsburgh) there is a BIOS update:

 

BIOS Update

 

 

Top Student
gened50
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎02-17-2012
Message 8 of 10 (5,599 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

Yes, knew about that. System came with the updated BIOS. Thanks for the post.

Student
1280T-User
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-07-2013
Message 9 of 10 (2,298 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

Did you ever find a solution for this? I am facing the same issue, very frustrating.

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,308
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 10 of 10 (2,291 Views)

Re: Need to get into BIOS setup to change VT setting

Hi:

 

If there is no setting in your BIOS to enable VT as in the picture below, then there is no VT support for your PC.

 

Carmel2 bios VT setting.jpg

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation