possible repair of an HP OfficeJet Pro 8500 Wireless (6816 Views)
Tutor
mcf57
Message 1 of 30 (6,816 Views)

possible repair of an HP OfficeJet Pro 8500 Wireless

[ Edited ]

I have a business collegue who was using a HP OfficeJet Pro 8500 Wireless multi-function printer. They apparently got a "paper jam" warning that made the unit useless and they could no longer use it. They contacted HP and after checking all areas for jammed paper, they found none, but still got this error. They said that HP seems to think its hard drive has failed. I even went through all the online suggestions from HP's site with no avail. Its out of warranty & they just went ahead and got another HP printer.

Therefore, they gave me this 8500 model & I took it off their hands. I thought I would maybe tinker around with it since its pretty much now a useless paper weight & would of been given away anyway. I have built my own custom PCs and installed internal hard drives all the time so I have some PC knowledge. Is it possible to crack this thing open and maybe replace its hard drive? I have a few spare 20GB & 40GB drives I was thinking I could maybe use if possible.

What kind of drive is in this thing? Flash drive, IDE drive, SATA, etc.? Can it be accessed by a user at all for changing it or is it sort of sealed up in there? If so, is there maybe somewhere I can find a service manual of some kind for this 8500?

Tutor
hpelmo
Message 2 of 30 (6,786 Views)

Re: possible repair of an HP OfficeJet Pro 8500 Wireless

THAT'S very interesting!!!  Please keep your progress posting - I might need to use it since my 8500 is "jammed".

Thanks!!!

Honor Student
craiger1528
Message 3 of 30 (6,471 Views)

Sorry, I don't have a repair...  But I have the same problem...  Less than thousand pages printed, out of warrantee, and a non-existant "jam".  I bought a "quality" printer thinking it would last. 

Student
petemcl
Message 4 of 30 (6,454 Views)