ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found (9472 Views)
Reply
Tutor
LoyGramps
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎01-05-2011
Message 1 of 17 (9,472 Views)
Accepted Solution

ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Sure hope you can help me. Problem is with HP Laptop dv9815nr..Using Vista
I have a Netgear Wireless Connection. The connection is hot, active or whatever one might call it. But when I try to open a web site in Google Chrome or IE or Firefox I keep getting Error 105 /net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED The server could not be found. So I believe the problem is with a software setting in the machine.
I've seen any number of solutions at Google.com/support/forum. And I've tried a number of them. But so far I'm between a rock and a hard spot. Nothing allows me to access the Net thru the browsers when in "Wireless Mode". 
I can connect when using the Ethernet Cable. So Any help is truly appreciated. Thanks so much.
Loy Banks
Pueblo West, CO

 

Loy Banks (Gramps to 11)
Web http;//loyfromcolorado.com
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 30,546
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 17 (9,461 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Hi,

 

While trying to use the wireless connection, click the Start Menu, click All Programs, click Accessories, right click the Command Prompt and select 'Run as Administrator'.  Into the prompt, type the following commands hitting enter after each one.  Make sure to include the spaces in the commands where shown.

 

ipconfig /flushdns

nbtstat -R

nbtstat -RR

netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt

netsh winsock reset

 

Restart the PC to see if this has helped the issue.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Tutor
LoyGramps
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎01-05-2011
Message 3 of 17 (9,451 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Sorry my friend, but that did not do it. I ran the command lines as instructed, then rebooted, but still no internet access thru the wireless. 

 

As I said earlier the machine is connected to the Internet, as shown by the Connect Box. But it won't access pages on the Net.

 

So I still need some help. Many thanks to all.

 

Loy Banks

Loy Banks (Gramps to 11)
Web http;//loyfromcolorado.com
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 30,546
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 4 of 17 (9,440 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Hi Loy,

 

It may be worth trying to change the DNS servers to see if this helps.  On the link below is a guide on how to do this.

 

http://www.plus.net/support/software/dns/changing_dns_vista.shtml


Important Notes:

 

Step 4 requires you to right click on Local Area Connection to bring up the menu shown in the diagram.

 

When you get to step 6, ignore the suggested DNS Addresses and enter these Addresses in the bottom Two boxes

 

208.67.220.220                                   ( These addresses belong to Open DNS and are perfectly safe to use )

208.67.222.222

 

Remember to click ok in this window and subsequent windows to save these changes.  Restart the PC and check whether this has solved the issue.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Tutor
LoyGramps
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎01-05-2011
Message 5 of 17 (9,433 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Sorry my friend, this didn't work either. I followed instructions, then unplugged the Ethernet Cable...... but the "wireless" connection still didn't allow Internet access. Got me totally bamboozled.

 

You know, I'm not new to computers by any means, but unfortunately I've never studied Wireless to any degree, so most of this wireless science or technology is foreign to me.

 

Going to the Connect Box shows me that we are connected to my NETGEAR Modem or ADSL Router. My two other Desktop machines , which are Ethernet connected work just fine on the Net connected to the same modem. As you know right now I'm also using the Ethernet Cable to connect this Laptop machine, as the Wireless from this machine isn't working. When testing if the Wireless is working I unplug the Ethernet. I jsut wanted to recap what I'm doing.

 

When I go the Network and Sharing Center I see the Ethernet Cable connection is identified as a Public Network..but when I look at the Wireless, it always shows Unidentified Network. Both are Public! WHY...would it be Unidentified?? Is there something wrong with this?

 

So I'm still between that rock and hard place. Any other ideas my friend? Thanks so much for all the help.

Loy Banks (Gramps to 11)
Web http;//loyfromcolorado.com
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 30,546
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 6 of 17 (9,427 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Hi,

 

With the laptop just connected wirelessly, go to the Control Panel, Network and Sharing Center, click on Manage Wireless Networks in the left pane and right-click the wireless network and select Remove.  If there is more than one entry and you only ever connect at home, repeat the procedure for any other networks listed here.

 

Restart the PC.

 

Follow the first part of the guide on the link below to recreate your wireless connection.

 

http://www.watchingthenet.com/windows-vista-tip-how-to-setup-and-connect-to-a-wireless-network.html

 

After setting this up, see if you can now connect properly.  If you are still getting this error, repeat the steps below to assign a different DNS Server.  This must be done while connected wirelessly - do not plug in the ethernet cable.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

http://www.plus.net/support/software/dns/changing_dns_vista.shtml


Important Notes:

 

Step 4 requires you to right click on Local Area Connection to bring up the menu shown in the diagram.

 

When you get to step 6, ignore the suggested DNS Addresses and enter these Addresses in the bottom Two boxes

 

208.67.220.220                                   ( These addresses belong to Open DNS and are perfectly safe to use )

208.67.222.222

 

Remember to click ok in this window and subsequent windows to save these changes.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Again, restart the PC and check whether you can connect ( fingers crossed!! )

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Tutor
LoyGramps
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎01-05-2011
Message 7 of 17 (9,418 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

After following your instructions (fingers and legs crossed) right down the line completely I must report NO SUCCESS!

 

**bleep** it, this is really getting frustrating for this 70 year old.

 

I welcome more ideas my friend. As always my thanks.

 

Loy Banks

Loy Banks (Gramps to 11)
Web http;//loyfromcolorado.com
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 30,546
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 8 of 17 (9,409 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Hi Loy,

 

I'm sure we will get this problem solved!!!

 

Could you tell me if you are using Windows Firewall or another third party firewall ( eg Norton, Avast etc ) on the laptop.

 

Also, if you look at the connection type on the two working Desktop PCs, do they show as Public or Private networks?

 

Look forward to hearing from you.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Tutor
LoyGramps
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎01-05-2011
Message 9 of 17 (9,403 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Yes I feel confident will shall overcome! Heard that some place.

 

I do use Norton's newest Anti version I believe called 360 supplied by my ISP, who is Qwest. However, this problem did exist, as I recall, a couple or so months ago, at that time I used the Free AVG on this machine.

 

The only firewall is Windows Firewall. I've even gone into the Firewall and made exceptions for Google Chrome, IE, Firefox, etc thinking that might help in allowing the Net through. But it didn't! I prefer and do use Chrome 95% of the time.

 

The two desktops both show...Network 3, Home Network. HHmmmm! Now that curious.

 

Why doesn't the Laptop show up as Network 3, Home Network?

 

The Laptop shows up as...Unidentified Network..Public network. Then at the top of page Network and Sharing where we have Loy-PC Laptop Name on the left...then connected thru "Multiple Networks...to the Internet Earth Sign on the right. Now this is with the Ethernet Cable plugged.

 

But why would even this show up as Multiple Networks? Then like I've said before the Connect Form shows we are connected to NETGEAR, but we can't connect to the Internet. Very strange indeed my friend. 

 

I'm waiting to hear from you. Thanks.

Loy Banks (Gramps to 11)
Web http;//loyfromcolorado.com
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 30,546
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 10 of 17 (9,396 Views)

Re: ERROR 105/net: ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED - Service could not be found

Hi Loy,

 

Just a couple more questions.

 

From the Start Menu, open the Control Panel and launch Device Manager.  Scroll down to Network Adapters and click the + sign to open up the list of devices.  Could you post back with the devices listed here.

 

Also could you post back with the Model No. of the NetGear Router.

 

Look forward to hearing from you.

 

Best wishes,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation