Question
Reply
 
Tutor
ElTel
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-31-2011
Message 1 of 99 (240,975 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to reset HP Touchpad

[ Edited ]

My Touchpad has frozen and wil not turn off or accept any commands. How do I reset the device?

Master's Graduate
Katie_H
Posts: 711
Member Since: ‎03-25-2010
Message 2 of 99 (240,913 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

[ Edited ]

*post removed as the link to the old Palm forums ... Is now here!  *


I work for HP, supporting the HP Experts who volunteer their time and technical knowledge to help others.

--Say "Thanks" by clicking the Kudos Star in the post that helped you.
--Please mark the post that solves your problem as "Accepted Solution"
Student
mohmadealnowali
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-08-2011
Message 3 of 99 (238,801 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

i dont no becuase me also need to help me

ebu Student
Student
ebu
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-23-2011
Message 4 of 99 (236,641 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

how can i set the touchpad

Intern
Dot_Rules
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-26-2011
Message 5 of 99 (236,256 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

I have four HP Touchscreens (the $99/$129 deals) and so far, three have locked up (completely froze) after selecting a Web Address (URL) and doing a copy, then creating an email, pasting the web address and hitting send.

 

It happened on my 16 GB as well as my 32 GB.  My son just called me asking me what he needs to press to reboot it.  When I asked him what he was doing when it happened, he said he pasted a website address into an email, the same thing I was doing on my two tablets when they locked up on me.  Very odd issue and yes, I have already run the System Updates on all devices (perhaps it's that update that's the problem because I ran the update when I first got them).

 

The reboot solution that I found to work all the time is to;

 

Simultaneously hold the power button, volume down button and the big HP button for 30 seconds.

 

Good luck!. 

Top Student
jemer1
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎10-03-2011
Message 6 of 99 (234,926 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

Hi Dot_Rules, As someone with multiple touchpads maybe you can answer my question. I have two touchpads that I'm going to put on the same WebOs account. I haven't activated the second one yet, but the HP help desk advised me that the only way to get the same apps on both devices is to erase the apps and settings on the device that I didn't download the app with and then reactive.  Their logic is that this will restore all apps downloaded to the WebOs account on that device.

Intern
Dot_Rules
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-26-2011
Message 7 of 99 (234,922 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

When I powered up my second tablet and registered it with HP, I logged in with the same user id and password and up to that point, I didn't even realize that the device itself was being backed up to their site.

 

I was surprised to learn that they had access to my documents and family photos (I normally don't read the instructions, lol), but it wasn't a big deal.

 

What I do recall though, is that when I logged in using the same credentials, it gave me the option to do a restore from the date of the last backup.

 

So, it seemed to me at the time (which I chose not do do because I would rather keep them separate because my kids were going to use "the new one and I didn't want to add/mix the apps and data onto the new one).

 

I was them able to name the new device and subsequently repeated the same process on the new devices.  I chose to not restore and then named the device something else.

 

I believe the restore option would have been beneficial if my device had crapped out and I was in need of restoring everything to it.

 

It doesn't make sense (to me anyway) what they are telling you because if you think about it, the new device hasn't been backed up so the config files they are referring to shouldn't matter.  This is the reason the restore option is given to you "before you get started".

 

AT this point, three of the four are registered with the SAME logon creds and I would expect I should be able to restore one to the other when and if I need to .  Let me now how you make out.  Wish I could have been more helpful!

 

 

Top Student
jemer1
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎10-03-2011
Message 8 of 99 (232,568 Views)

Re: How to reset HP Touchpad

actually I was wanting to add/mix apps between my touchpads. The restore option does work for this purpose. I was just disappointed that every time I want to put an app that I purchased on one touchpad on the other, I have to restore the device and login like its the first time I've turned it on. This restores what was last saved to your webOS account but it takes to long and is a pain in neck.
Honor Student
ry1480
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-21-2011
Message 9 of 99 (220,313 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

This worked perfectly.  Thanks so much as going into systems seemed like the long way around. Good to know.

Honor Student
ry1480
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-21-2011
Message 10 of 99 (220,304 Views)

Re: HP Touchpad Reset

The hi five I was giving was to Dot_Rules on 9/29/2011, for the simple procedure to reinstate my laptop touchpad. So easy with one step.  Thanks

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation