Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-21-2010
Message 1 of 25 (40,896 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

Hi, I'm using Pavilion p6142p Desktop, WIN7, one harddsik.  The BIOS's  SATA mode was set to RAID by the factory default.

 

I'm going put two new harddisk in this desktop, they have different size and different RPM speed, I don't want RAID them.  So I tried to change the BIOS SATA mode to AHCI, then I can't start the win7, win7 gave me only two choices:  repair or restart, the repair failed too.  After I change BIOS back, everything OK.

 

But I do need put all three harddisk in this desktop. So my question is :

 

Do I have to use RAID in this PC? 

Do I have to re-install win7?

....

Anyway, what should I do?  Thanks.

 

 

Reply
0
Accepted Solution

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

d1ad1a,

 

Raid will not work with unlike devices.  You can always install your new drives and give it a go.

 

It appears that the ugly way is going to be your only to get ACHI mode to work. Or, just live with what you have.

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 23,548
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 25 (40,892 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

[ Edited ]

When you boot your system do you see RAID menu briefly?  Sometimes the ctrl-i at boot time will get you into the RAID menu. If yes, then you can reset the RAID definition which should allow you to go to ACHI mode.

 

 

BACKUP EVERYTHING BEFORE DOING THIS!  Be sure that your recovery disks work!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI, Corsair H75 water cooler
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-21-2010
Message 3 of 25 (40,870 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

YES , I can see RAID menu after the HP BIOS logo.

 

Should I change BIOS sata mode first then CTRL+I,  OR reverse ?   Thanks

Provost
Posts: 23,548
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 25 (40,863 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

Boot and enter ctrl-i to get into the RAID menu. Reset the RAID. Reboot and go into the BIOS and change the sata controller to ACHI and save.  Reboot.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI, Corsair H75 water cooler
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-21-2010
Message 5 of 25 (40,856 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

[ Edited ]

I enter the Raid menu,by crtl+N,   there's only a "RAID mode" I can change,   there are several choices:

mirror   (  the factory setup, I'm using right now)

stripe

span

stripe mirror

raid 5

 

 

Which one should I change to?

I can NOT find any place to disable raid in the raid menu. 

Thanks.

Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-21-2010
Message 6 of 25 (40,855 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

I can NOT find any place to disable raid in the raid menu.

Provost
Posts: 23,548
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 7 of 25 (40,842 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

[ Edited ]

I may have a differnt version of the RAID utility and I have dual HDs.  However, option #3 at the top of the screen says:

Reset Raid to non-Raid.

 

Do you see that option?

 

 

Your system may be configured for RAID pass-thru.  That may be what you have to live with.

P6142P specs

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI, Corsair H75 water cooler
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Provost
Posts: 23,548
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 8 of 25 (40,909 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

[ Edited ]

Will your recovery disks boot up when you set the sata bios to ACHI mode?

 

If your are going to replace your hard drive and install another then you should be able to remove your existing HD and install the two new HDs.  Then switch the bios to ACHI and use to recovery disks to restore your system back to factory fresh state.  Just be sure that your new boot HD is equal or bigger than your current one.  Backup your programs and data before using the recovery disks!

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI, Corsair H75 water cooler
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎01-21-2010
Message 9 of 25 (40,900 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

No, I don't have the "disable" option in the raid menu.  I can ONLY enter it by ctrl+N, so maybe different than yours by ctrl+i.

 

I didn't try the recovery disk yet, i really don't want to touch the win7, so much pain.  I'll re-install the win7 if nothing worked out.

 

One question: what about I install three HDD and do NOTHING, I mean, don't set them up in the raid menu.    Now my bios is sata raid, my raid menu is mirror.

 

Are they going to be set to Raid 1 automaticlly,  or  just three seperate HDD??

 

I can live with that as long as the system don't RAID them.  Thanks.

Intern
Posts: 53
Member Since: ‎08-16-2009
Message 10 of 25 (40,878 Views)

Re: Can't change SATA from RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS.

[ Edited ]

I have a d5200t Pavillon Elite and the only way I was able to change from Raid to AHCI was to change it in the Bios from Raid to AHCI then shut down and rebooted with my Windows 7 disk and did a clean install. Long way around but I had tried everything else with no success.

Any day above the grass is a Great Day!
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation