Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
bobsykid
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎10-29-2012
Message 1 of 11 (3,321 Views)
Accepted Solution

Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

Hi 

I have going up the walls the last week, have spent days trying to fix the below problem!


Basically just moved house and got Eircom broadband installed, my girlfriends laptop connected automatically, whereas my Compaq CQ60 Presario Notebook WindowsVista will not connect.

I have checked so many different forums trying to fix this problem, but to no avail im afraid... it looks like there is an excellent internet connection.... but cannot go on the internet because it says "Unidentified Network local access only"

 

The router I have is "atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi adapter", and the o/s I have on my laptop is Windows Vista 32 bit.

 

In our previous residence we had UPC broadband, and I had no problems at all connecting.


I have very little knowledge of computers, so appreciate your kind patience in advance

Would very much appreciate if someone might be able to help me out here!

Thanks so much!

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 46,491
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 2 of 11 (3,314 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

Hi:

 

Install this driver and you should be fine.

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

 

The wireless card in your notebook is notorious for not being able to connect to the internet with newer routers.

 

Paul

Honor Student
bobsykid
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎10-29-2012
Message 3 of 11 (3,311 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

thanks a mill, just downloading that now on another lap top that connects to the net and will try then to open it on my laptop.

will let u know how i get on....

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 46,491
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 11 (3,309 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

You're very welcome.

 

Hopefully the driver update will work as it usually does.

Honor Student
bobsykid
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎10-29-2012
Message 5 of 11 (3,304 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

Thanks so much, that worked perfectly! Thankyou!
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 46,491
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 6 of 11 (3,301 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

You're very welcome!

Student
jeffsheri
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-21-2013
Message 7 of 11 (3,241 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

This worked for my HP Pavillion DV9700 laptop too (running Windows Vista)!

Student
LukeRyan
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-03-2014
Message 8 of 11 (2,768 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

Hi Everyone,

 

I had been having problems connecting my HP Compaq CQ60 to a new wireless router having moved to a new house last week. Having spent hours trying to trouble-shooting the issue changing settings and the like. I finally logged on using a different laptop and started to read the forum's. As I read this laptop is known to have problems with the software that deals with the wireless connection. I have updated the sofware using this link below:

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

 

This was provided to me by Paul Tikkanen what great advice this was thank-you very much. 

 

This update works, anyone having the same problem as myself please use this link above. 

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 46,491
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 9 of 11 (2,758 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

You're very welcome.

 

Glad that driver worked for you too.

Student
2014ann
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-26-2014
Message 10 of 11 (737 Views)

Re: Compaq CQ60 Notebook - Cannot connect to Wireless Broadband

hi 

i have a cq60 company laptop, my laptop is not connect to my wifi.

from the time i bought i am using on bsnl broadband. if i conncect directly tats by internet cable then it works but not on wifi. google crome says it has crashed

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation