Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
4 2 0 0
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

My desktop won 't boot up Windows correctly. It gets stuck at the windows logo.

HP Pavilion 6000 Series
Microsoft Windows 7 (32-bit)

There have been no software installations recently and no changes.  I do not know if it is Windows 7 32 or 64 . This computer was my husbands and he passed away recently (he knew all about it). 

I have been using it without problems for a few months until the other morning i couldnt get into it.  i tried the obvious things such as reboot, unplug, &  unplug router.   No luck.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Level 15
Level 15
22,441 22,384 2,050 4,894
Message 2 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@Mango2

If the PC gets all the way into the boot process to show the Win7 "flag" on the screen, then either the boot loader files are damaged or one or more of the core Windows files are damaged.

My suspicion would be that the hard drive is failing and that is causing the file damage.

Try pressing the Esc key repeatedly while booting your PC and when the HP utilities menu comes up, choose drive diagnostics. You should see a menu looking something like the one below:

HP Startup Menu.jpg

Try pressing F2 then to run the system diagnostics to see if your drive is failing.

Please report back the results.

***If my post helped, click the White thumbs-up symbol to say thanks***

***Please mark Accept As Solution if my post solved your problem***

I am a volunteer and I do not work for, nor represent, HP
Highlighted
4 2 0 0
Message 3 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

WAWood  

I tried what you suggested and now I have a screen that says

Please select a boot device:

ST31000528AS

hp CDDVDW TS-H653R

Realtek PXE B02 DOO

arrows to move selection

ENTER to select boot device

F4 to boot using defaults

What should I select?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Level 15
Level 15
Message 4 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@Mango2