Highlighted
2 1 0 0
Message 1 of 4
Flag Post

Processor upgrade or swap

HP Recommended
dv6000
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

I am having a dv6000 laptop runninng on an AMD procesor anthlon TK-55 of 1.8ghz that i would like to replace with an intel processor of a suitable class to arrest the issue of over heating as i live in Nigeria where the athmospheric heat is unforgiving

i am a tech enthusiast and i know building desktops isnt as smooth sailing as that of laptops, pls how do i go about this, what are the requirements for making this upgrade

thanks in anticipation

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Level 17
Level 17
42,578 42,367 6,761 11,812
Message 2 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Have you heard the English expression you can't put a square peg in a round hole? Applies here. The AMD and Intel processors have a different socket on the motherboard. The only way to change your system over to an Intel based one is to remove the existing motherboard and put in an Intel motherboard. These are very hard to locate in the market as HP sold way more AMD DV6000s than Intel. And even the Intels that have the nVidia graphics are prone to overheating.

There is an Intel motherboard with integrated Intel graphics but those are really rare. You will ,with all due respect, never find one in Nigeria as I doubt I can find one in the USA. They were all bought up back when the DV6000 was one of the biggest disasters ever to plague a computer manufacturer. They failed in massive numbers and spawned a class action lawsuit and a silent recall.

You need to start thinking in terms of a new laptop if in any way possible as that one is entirely unreliable and it is amazing it is still running at all. Failing that there are some hacks you can do to improve heat management I would be happy to describe if you are interested.

Highlighted
Author
2 1 0 0
Message 3 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended