Highlighted
2 1 0 0
Message 1 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

BIOS Update Failure

ProBook 450 G3
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Hi. I am trying to update my BIOS using download SP75637, but the update always fails.  I download the file and launch it and it tells me the process completed successfully, but when I restart the PC via the update process, the update fails.  The system states that there is a missing BIN file.  It also states that the file should be located in" C:\Hewlett-Packard\BIOS\New", but the update process doesn't even create this folder.  What is the problem?

BTW, I am a retired IT professional and have perfomed BIOS/SW updates for 20+ years.  Why dosen't the update process create the necessary folders?

TIA...JL

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Level 3
18 16 0 17
Message 2 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

BIOS Update Failure

I have had a similar problem with this BIOS update this morning as well.  In my case, the update causes the system to reboot in an endless loop.

HP Support -- Please, please pull this BIOS update and fix it before more users have this problem!  Thank you!!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Level 1
11 8 0 1
Message 3 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

BIOS Update Failure

I had the exact same experience as Buildyourpc. Attemped to upgrade the BIOS on my ProBook 450 G3 (Win7 Pro x64) from release 1.07 to 1.10. Endless reboot loop without starting Windows.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 1 0 0
Message 4 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

BIOS Update Failure

I opened a ticket with HP support regarding this issue and what was their response?  They are sending out a shipping box so I can ship the laptop for service!  There is no way I am going to ship my laptop to them to correct a problem they created.  I can live with an outdated BIOS as long as my laptop works.  I will reattempt a BIOS update when HP gets their act together.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Level 3
18 16 0 17
Message 5 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

BIOS Update Failure