1 0 0 0
Message 1 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Issues connecting laptop to wireless display adapter

15-ac109na
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello there, 

This is my first time posting here, apologies if I haven't chosen the right board! 

I am having issues connecting my HP 15-ac109na laptop (Seen Here) to the Wireless Display Adapter I have just bought (Seen Here). 

The adapter works with both my phone and my partner's phone perfectly without any issues (so we know that the issue is not with the adapter itself), but when I go to connect my laptop it refuses to work.

I go to Action Centre > Connect, and the adapter ("MSDisplayAdapter_9F") is visible. When I click on it, one of two things happens:

1) It says "connected" for a brief 10 seconds (approx), then disconnects itself. When it is "connected" for those 10 seconds the screen on the TV doesn't change (just keeps saying "connecting to [laptop name]").

OR

2) The laptop says that it "couldn't connect", and the Wireless Display Adapter app on the laptop says "Connection failed. Try to connect again", but after what feels like six billion attempts it still isn't working.

I have tried troubleshooting the issue and have tried various solutions (restarting devices, resetting the adapter, downloading the firmware - which was quite useless as it downloaded the firmware update to my laptop via the app and then said "connect to your adapter to update", which I obviously can't do right now! - making sure it wasn't blocked by the firewall, checking for updates and updating drivers on my laptop). 

The laptop screen also flickers periodically - like it is trying to connect to another screen (as it would when connecting with HDMI in the past).