cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ArchivedThis topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
basilcj
Level 1
5 4 0 1
Message 1 of 15
Flag Post

Unable to try any linux distribution

HP Recommended
HP Envy X360 u110dx
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

i tried to use ubuntu 14.04 LTS as live USB from the boot i can choose LIVE USB after that it shows options like try ubuntu or install ubuntu but when i  choose any of the above option  a black screen is coming up and  nothing happen after that ...the same problem with all other linux distribution except ubuntu 12.02 LTS (it is possible to try or install so i think no issue with BIOS settings) as i am a python developer i need to try(install) latest 14.04 LTS of ubuntu . but HP shows Blank screen not even to use live Ubunts.

i tried OS faild

* Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

*Elementary OS

*Linux Mint

*Fedora

*Korora

*lubuntu

but Ubuntu 12.04 worked fine...but i want to use latest version of any of the above...!

14 REPLIES 14
erico
Level 17
Level 17
47,969 40,181 4,651 12,425
Message 2 of 15
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Enter the BIOS and in system configuration-->Boot options,  enable legacy support 

I am not an HP Employee.
Was this reply helpful? Yes No
basilcj
Author
Level 1
5 4 0 1
Message 3 of 15
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Thanks

But did't work. i tried all possible options in the BIOS...Enabled Legacy boot..! that is why i possible ubuntu 12.04..but not with other ...why ubuntu 12.04 ?? why not other distrubution not working...??

erico
Level 17
Level 17
Message 4 of 15
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@basilcj wrote:

Thanks

But did't work. i tried all possible options in the BIOS...Enabled Legacy boot..! that is why i possible ubuntu 12.04..but not with other ...why ubuntu 12.04 ?? why not other distrubution not working...??

That is interesting.