Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
HP Elite Z2X62EA
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello.

I'm a programmer and use my notebook for work. Some days ago I bought Z2X62EA .

I have a problem with fn lock and F keys.  I want to use F1..F12 keys as on standard keyboard and if I need Mute sound, a want to press FN+F5, not only F5. I know about fn+shift combination, it works, but not for me. 

Often I need to select line of code from current cursor position to the start or to the end of line.

So, I use combination Shift + fn + left  or right arrow.  

Shift - for selection

fn - for use "home" or "end" on arrow button. 

So, when I press shift and fn it's not working - it switchs off/on the fn lock.

In the BIOS there is no setting. 

So, what can I do? How I can make standard F keys and disable switching on/off fn lock?

Thanks a lot!

8 REPLIES 8
HP Recommended

@AlexSpR

Have you tried changing Action Keys mode in BIOS?

https://support.hp.com/nz-en/document/c02035108

**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue**
***Click the "YES" button if you think this response was helpful.***

HP Recommended

Hello.

As I wrote, there is no this option in BIOS. Here is new bios, with mouse support, not old blue bios.

HP Recommended

No ideas? 😞

HP Recommended