Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
HP Z4 G4
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hi, I am thinking of buying a second hand but with 2023 warranty, HP Z4 G4 with a 7900x and no graphics. I have no experience with HP workstations. so apologies if naive questions 1) can I later on replace the CPU with anyone offered in the non-Xeon lineup for this model or is BIOS locked somehow as to prevent CPU replacements? 2) in a YouTube video I saw, it says that only the Xeon model can accept the PCIE 4x4 NVME adapter from HP, does this mean I cannot use a third party 4x4 NVME PCIE adapter card (I currently use one from Asus on a self-built X399 system, 3) the 7900x is unlocked of course, does HP bios allow any overclocking or is it Locked by BIOS?

5 REPLIES 5
HP Recommended

OEM business and most definitely workstations do not support overclocking,....this is due to the fact that workstations value 24/7 operation and stability quite highly

the HP Z4 G4 line has TWO DIFFERENT SYSTEMS (i7/xeon cpu's) each using a different motherboard and slightly different options for each

each system only  officially supports the listed cpu's however intel may release a newer cpu in each cpu family at a later date that HP may not test and list that might work