Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Do you need the WPS PIN to connect your printer? Click here for tips and tricks!
Get help with Large Format Printers, with direct access to all Large Format Knowledge Center· Ask anything · Find anything · Share anything at HP LKC
HP Recommended
HP Designjet T790
Other

Hello! I'm an agent of the US Postal Service, and I've been tasked with repairing an HP Designjet T790 Plotter Printer we have at site.

Originally, this device was showing an "error 08:18 When printer is restarted, it will not work until firmware is updated", and was not responding to any input, as you can see below: Designjet T790.jpgInitial errorI fixed this by going to HP's website and downloading new firmware (Reference: Support.HP.com was the website I got the firmware from) and moving Firmware 6.0.0.2 onto a USB drive, then migrating it to the plotter using the USB port you can see in the image above.

And it worked. Pretty perfectly. It recognized the firmware, installed it, rebooted it, and everything looked like it would work.

Except now the dash shows "Initializing: 20%" and won't proceed beyond that: