Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
Pavilion 570-p014
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I am a computer tech and am upgrading a Pavilion 570-p014 desktop from a Seagate HD to a Samsung SSD.  The problem I am having is that once the clone is finished and I hook up the new SSD to the system it locks up on the startup screen when I start the computer.  I get the page that says to hit the esc key to enter the startup menu but that is locked up.

First of all, I do have the latest BIOS update installed.  I have also cloned the original Seagate HD to a new Western Digital HD just to make sure it clones properly and that works.  I can hit the F10 key on startup and get into the BIOS on both of these regular hard drives.  

I have tried a Cruical MX500 SSD as well as the Samsung 870QVO.  All of these drives are 1TB, including the original Seagate HD.  Both of the SSDs show the same lockup on startup after cloning.

I also do some data recovery and have an imaging device.  Normally I just image a HD to an SSD and that works fine.  I have also used the Crucial Acronis software on the Crucial drive and have used the Macrium Reflect on the Crucial drive with the same lock up issues. I used the actual Samsung Data Migration cloning software on the Samsung drive and experienced the same lockup.