Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎10-18-2009
Message 1 of 125 (41,464 Views)
Accepted Solution

DC7600 CPU Upgrade

I have a DC7600 cmt with a

  • Intel P4 640 (3.2/800/2M) processor with HyperThreading /ATI X1300 Video Card/1.5G Ram
  • Can I upgrade to any of these cpu's?

    -Pentium D SL88T 2.8GHZ/2M/800/05A

    -Pentium D 945 Dual Core 3.4 GHz 4M/800 775 SL9QQ

    -Intel Pentium D 940 Dual Core Processor (3.2-GHz, 2x2MB L2 cache,
    800-MHz FSB)
    -Intel Pentium D 840 Dual Core Processor (3.2-GHz, 2x1MB L2 cache,
    800-MHz FSB)
    And would I see the performance improvements?

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Here is link to specs:http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=120&prodSeriesId=...

    0 Kudos
    Accepted Solution

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    Hi:

     

    I have a dc7600 CMT that originally came with the P4 640 processor. I installed the Pentium D 945 with sSpec SL9QQ.

     

    Works great, and I can definitely see a performance improvement. I also installed Windows 7 on it, and the processor rating increased in the Windows Experience Indicator (WEI).  I don't remember how much but since you can get one of those processors for less than $40 USD, you may as well max it out.

     

    You will need to have BIOS version 1.56A or newer to install a PD 945. If you don't have that version installed, you may as well flash to the latest version.

     

    DO NOT FLASH the BIOS if you are running Windows 7. You need to have XP or Vista on your PC to use the windows based flash or you can render your PC useless.

     

    Follow all other precautions if you need to flash your BIOS.

     

    Paul

    View solution in context
    Provost
    Posts: 41,904
    Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
    Message 2 of 125 (41,416 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    [ Edited ]

     


    rikirud wrote:

    I have a DC7600 cmt with a

  • Intel P4 640 (3.2/800/2M) processor with HyperThreading /ATI X1300 Video Card/1.5G Ram
  • Can I upgrade to any of these cpu's?

    -Pentium D SL88T 2.8GHZ/2M/800/05A  This is the one you want to use. It is compatible with your motherboard 

    -Pentium D 945 Dual Core 3.4 GHz 4M/800 775 SL9QQ

    -Intel Pentium D 940 Dual Core Processor (3.2-GHz, 2x2MB L2 cache,
    800-MHz FSB)
    -Intel Pentium D 840 Dual Core Processor (3.2-GHz, 2x1MB L2 cache,
    800-MHz FSB)
    And would I see the performance improvements? Yes. Dual core processors compared to single core processors are a world apart.

     

     

     

    The prices vary greatly from $13.- to ridiculously high. Here is the Google search I did.

     

     

     

    Here is link to specs:http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=120&prodSeriesId=...


    Best regards,
    erico

     

    If I was able to help you or guide you on your way to resolve your issue, you can click on the purple Thumbs up + icon to say thanks.

    If your problem is solved , please click the Accepted Solution button

    I am not an HP Employee, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time
    Provost
    Posts: 84,864
    Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
    Message 3 of 125 (41,409 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    [ Edited ]

    Hi:

     

    I have a dc7600 CMT that originally came with the P4 640 processor. I installed the Pentium D 945 with sSpec SL9QQ.

     

    Works great, and I can definitely see a performance improvement. I also installed Windows 7 on it, and the processor rating increased in the Windows Experience Indicator (WEI).  I don't remember how much but since you can get one of those processors for less than $40 USD, you may as well max it out.

     

    You will need to have BIOS version 1.56A or newer to install a PD 945. If you don't have that version installed, you may as well flash to the latest version.

     

    DO NOT FLASH the BIOS if you are running Windows 7. You need to have XP or Vista on your PC to use the windows based flash or you can render your PC useless.

     

    Follow all other precautions if you need to flash your BIOS.

     

    Paul

    Top Student
    Posts: 7
    Member Since: ‎04-25-2012
    Message 4 of 125 (39,720 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    [ Edited ]

    Hi

    can I install processor Pentium dual-core E5400 @ 2,70 GHz in my dc7600 sff?

     

    I tried this processor but when computer starts there are only two red blinks followed by beeps...It should be some problem with processor overheating...

    Provost
    Posts: 84,864
    Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
    Message 5 of 125 (39,713 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    Hi:

     

    No Pentium E series processsor of any number will work in a dc7600. 

     

    Max is the Pentium D 950, which is just a 945 with VT.

     

    Paul

    Top Student
    Posts: 7
    Member Since: ‎04-25-2012
    Message 6 of 125 (39,703 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    [ Edited ]

    Why I get error - 2 red blinks - it should be "Processor thermal protection activated"?

     

    This Processor should fit?

    Provost
    Posts: 84,864
    Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
    Message 7 of 125 (39,683 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    Hi:

     

    I agree that the error is for thermal shutdown, but I don't know why you are getting that. 

     

    If the PC was working fine before you changed the processor, then  it must be related to the unsupported processor.

     

    Why would you only upgrade to the Pentium D 820? 

     

    It will work, but why not go all the way to the Pentium D 945 like I did.

     

    Check eBay and get a used but tested and working processor. I got one with the sSpec SL9QQ and it worked perfectly.

     

    Paul

    Top Student
    Posts: 7
    Member Since: ‎04-25-2012
    Message 8 of 125 (39,682 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    [ Edited ]

    I found this model also:

     

    Intel Pentium D 925 3.00 Dual core 775 socket 4mb L2 800FSB

     

    Will this fit? What do you think about this model?

     

    Now, I am using Celeron 2,8ghz 256kb..

    Provost
    Posts: 84,864
    Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
    Message 9 of 125 (39,677 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    Yes, the 925 will work just fine.

     

    Have you installed the latest microcode update and BIOS?

     

    You can only update the BIOS in XP and Vista. You should not flash the BIOS if you have installed Windows 7 or you will probably ruin the computer.

    Top Student
    Posts: 7
    Member Since: ‎04-25-2012
    Message 10 of 125 (39,673 Views)

    Re: DC7600 CPU Upgrade

    [ Edited ]

    I forgot to tell you that I didnt have any problem at start with my old processor. When i put new processor I got the error - two red blinks. I put back my old processor, and it's everything OK now.
    I have checked the bios version, it is the latest one -1.61...

    Here, in Bosnia, that d820 I found for about 10,00 Euros, but this D925 costs 20,00 Euros.

    † The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation