Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Any failures related to Hotkey UWP service? Click here for tips.
HP Recommended
HP Z210 CMT workstation
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello! I am a bit of a noob when it comes to PC hardware. I would like to upgrade the graphics card on my Z210 workstation to a MSI GTX 1050 TI. I am using 64 bit windows 10.

I know that the card slot in the workstation can handle the power requirements for the card and the dimensions but I am just curious if there could be any other problems if i drop the new card into the appropriate slot? Should it be a relatively simple plug and play operation? Can i run into problems with compatibility because it's an old machine? Any help or opinions are really appreciated.

10 REPLIES 10
HP Recommended

@Danielurl,

As your unit is circa 2011, I do suspect a BIOS boot. Run this program to determine the boot environment.

If is BIOS, the GTX1050ti will not run, as it is a UEFI card.

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served. Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620 Legal