Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
HP 2311x 23-inch Monitor
Microsoft Windows 8.1 (64-bit)

I'm hoping someone can help me.  I'm a photographer so it's really important that my images look right!

When my computer had Microsoft Vista (up until last week), my HP 2311x monitor was able to display 1920x1080 pixels.  Then I upgraded it to Windows 8.1, and now the highest resolution available is 1280x1024 -- which makes my photos look all stretched out horizontally.

In Device Manager, the driver is listed as HP 2311 Series LED Backlit LCD Monitor, version 2.2.0.0, dated 7/25/2013.  I'm connected by a VGA cable, which is what I've always had.  I'd be happy to answer any other questions about my setup.

I've tried adjusting the resolution through the Windows desktop interface, and I've also tried the various controls that are built into the monitor.  No luck.

Can you give me any suggestions, please?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

Morkywas

Sorry, but I don't have very good news for you ...

You're right in that HP does not supply Win8 drivers for your PC.

You MIGHT be able to install the Win7 drivers from that page using compatibility mode:  http://ccm.net/faq/24611-installing-a-driver-in-compatibility-mode-in-windows-7