Ask questions. Help others.
The HP Community is here for you.
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Note on archived topics.
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant.
If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here, or click on "Post new question" above and select the appropriate board.
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎03-13-2009
Message 1 of 576 (146,716 Views)
Accepted Solution

Power on password

Ok, I give up.  Anybody know how to get past this annoyance?? HP Compaq d530 SFF, I can't get past this "Power On Password" on boot up.  NO, I don't know the password.  Clearing CMOS doesn't help...because..??   Thanx for your help....
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Power on password

@Kfra315 

 

I believe the Omni is a Business class machine? No backdoor passwords on Business machines.Only Hp Service can remove it.

View solution in context
Intern
Posts: 20
Member Since: ‎03-13-2009
Message 2 of 576 (146,690 Views)

Re: Power on password

Hi,

 

CMOS will not remove the Power on Password. Instead reseat the CMOS jumper. CMOS jumper will be near the CMOS battery.

 

Hope this will help you.

 

Thank you.

 
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎03-13-2009
Message 3 of 576 (146,650 Views)

Re: Power on password

No good,the cmos clear is just a momentary switch.  There must be someone out there who knows how to clear the non-volital memory.
Top Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-17-2009
Message 4 of 576 (145,296 Views)

Re: Power on password

r u talking about the windows password,like to sign on??? if so i can help u with that no problem...let me know

Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎06-09-2010
Message 5 of 576 (144,519 Views)

Re: Power on password

simple..just remove the jumper near CMOS battery, then restart..go to BIOS and disable power on security..

Provost
Posts: 26,012
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 6 of 576 (144,505 Views)

Re: Power on password

Usually there is a clear power on password jumper near the clear cmos jumper on the motherboard.  You might look for that jumper.

HP laptop 17t u100,
HP Photosmart 6520 and HP Deskjet 1112
Custom 1151 socket Z270 Intel i7-7700k @4,600 Mhz
16GB Corsair 3000 Mhz dimms
Corsair H75 water cooler
Corsair CS 650M power supply
RAID 0 (dual Samsung 960 EVO m.2 240 GB) boot system
Dual Samsung 840 EVO SSDs 240 GB data storage
MSI NVIDIA GTX 980TI 6GB
ASUS ROG PG279q @144 MHz
Windows 10 and Windows 8.1 Pro x64 in UEFI mode
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-23-2011
Message 7 of 576 (141,974 Views)

Re: Power on password

not as simple as u know...

my main board made on 2004

 

Model HP-Compaq dx6120

 

this model not used jumper.. they use button as reset.

 

i already 

1.  Push CMOS reset button (with battery on it)

2.  Push CMOS reset button (while in run mode)

3.  Push CMOS reset button (while run mode.. but without battery)

4.  Remove battery and power supply for 2 days...

 

all useless....

it still ask for "Power On Password"

 

last think i got in mind is..

1. Flash the cmos but where can i get this flashing things

2. HP gave the default password, so we can reset it manually

3. Throw away those HP model and find another vendor for my office.. and never take this HP Desktop or Laptop... 

 

Provost
Posts: 85,717
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 8 of 576 (141,955 Views)

Re: Power on password

[ Edited ]

Hi: @ Abengah80:

 

Here is the link to the troubleshooting guide for your PC:

 

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00189283/c00189283.pdf

 

See chapter 2 B for the procedure to clear the BIOS password.

 

It does use a jumper as do most of these older business desktop PC's. I own several of them so I know (d530, dc7100, dc7600). All have green jumpers to clear the BIOS password. Look by the green motherboard light. The green jumper should be near that area.

 

Paul

Honor Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎05-24-2011
Message 9 of 576 (138,656 Views)

Re: Power on password

jumper is not always near the battery, on mine it was not close but was near the cmos area marked Cmos, I removed the jumper and restarted the computer and it booted up. I powered down and reinstalled the jumper and it still booted up

Teacher
Posts: 146
Member Since: ‎08-14-2011
Message 10 of 576 (134,798 Views)

Re: Power on password

have you tried to enter a password 3 times and do you get an error code??

 

if so post it in here and i should be able to help but only if you get a code

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation