It is safe to delete these files as they are only temporary files for installation purpose. Updates will also create these type of files. So it is good idea to delete them once in a while to save space.
Hope it helps,
This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.