Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Highlighted
Tutor
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎02-01-2017
Message 1 of 10 (410 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can I

Product Name: hp envy 700-481
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)
Reply
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Can I

@Grzwacz

 

Look for the BIOS updates under Windows 8.1 for your PC if you have the HP ENVY Desktop - 700-481no.

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 41,904
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 10 (395 Views)

Re: Can I

[ Edited ]

Nope.

 

Unfortunately, it will not boot if installed in your PC.  You will have a black screen.

 

The reason is that all of the NVIDIA GTX 1000 series cards have only support for UEFI BIOS motherboards. Your BIOS is a legacy type.

 

Take a look at the AMD\ATI Radeon Video cards that have legacy BIOS support if you want to upgrade successfully.

 

Sapphire technology manufactures powerful AMD\ATI Radeon Video cards that have legacy and UEFI BIOS support.  See the following link at NewEGG.com

https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&IsNodeId=1&N=100007709%2050001561

The Radeon r9 300 series cards have legacy\UEFI BIOS support. The Radeon RX Gaming series cards have only UEFI BIOS support.

 

 

If I was able to help you or guide you on your way to resolve your issue, you can click on the purple Thumbs up + icon to say thanks.

If your problem is solved , please click the Accepted Solution button

I am not an HP Employee, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time
PhD Student
Posts: 701
Member Since: ‎10-26-2016
Message 3 of 10 (374 Views)

Re: Can I

[ Edited ]

Hello

 

Please excuse my asking one question. Very sorry, only try to help. Smiley Sad

 

Is your pC model envy 700-481no? I cannot find envy 700-481 model.

 

Envy 700-481no made by HP  starting in November 2014.

 

The Envy 700-481no has UEFI BIOS. This model (700-481no) also has 500 watt power supply.

 

Big problem is will card you like to buy fit in tower if you have Envy 700-481no. This card is 10.98 inches (279 mm) long. It also need a six and eight pin PCIe connection from power supply.

 

Again, very sorry to jump in thread.

 

I apologize.

 

Grzy

Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 10 (363 Views)

Re: Can I

[ Edited ]

@Grzwacz

 

Look for the BIOS updates under Windows 8.1 for your PC if you have the HP ENVY Desktop - 700-481no.

Provost
Posts: 41,904
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 5 of 10 (352 Views)

Re: Can I

@Grzwacz

You should read the how to select a video card sticky authored by @Big_Dave to understand how to measure for the upgrade video card. The link is below.

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Desktop-Hardware-and-Upgrade-Questions/Guide-for-Selecting-a-Discrete-V...

If I was able to help you or guide you on your way to resolve your issue, you can click on the purple Thumbs up + icon to say thanks.

If your problem is solved , please click the Accepted Solution button

I am not an HP Employee, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time
PhD Student
Posts: 701
Member Since: ‎10-26-2016
Message 6 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: Can I

[ Edited ]

Hello everyone

 

Thank you very much for your help. I was not seeking help but trying to see if Envy 700-481 was correct model given by Kakkaa.

 

I could not find this model. An HP search only gave Envy 700-481no. Also checked 700-400 series HP Support and could find only Envy 700-481no.

 

My point was if Kakkaa has Envy 700-481no then it has UEFI BIOS unless HP Support site detals are not right (or I am doing something wrong when searching).

 

Grzy

 

 

Tutor
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎02-01-2017
Message 7 of 10 (333 Views)

Re: Can I

Yes the computer is 700-481no and therer is 6 and 8 pin connection. I think that video card will fit in this case 

Tutor
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎02-01-2017
Message 8 of 10 (326 Views)

Re: Can I

what is that UEFI BIOS. Does that mean I cant switch  gtx 1070 in my pc.

PhD Student
Posts: 701
Member Since: ‎10-26-2016
Message 9 of 10 (312 Views)

Re: Can I

Hello

 

You can if the 1070 will fit in your tower. Pretty sure the 1070 needs 400 or 500 watt power supply.

 

I have a similar tower. Long graphics cards may hit the HDD cage in this HP chassis. I could not use a graphics card longer than ten inches (254 Mmm).

 

Grzy.

Tutor
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎02-01-2017
Message 10 of 10 (306 Views)

Re: Can I

I have measured and the video card will fit in to the case. thanks for help Smiley Happy

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation