• ×
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
  • ×
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Join the HP Community Solve‑a‑thon | Help Others & Share Your Solutions | Live on Zoom | 2:30 PM to 2:30 AM IST | Every Wednesday Click here to know more
HP Recommended
HP E42540

I am trying to downgrade printer firmware for a customer in bulk remotely using WJA. Specifically the HP E42540. I found a few things that said Auto updates will have to be disabled and downgrades enabled, but is it possible to downgrade at all in WJA?

FYI, The newer firmware is messing with their in-house software. 

1 REPLY 1
HP Recommended

Hello @BradyMarco, Welcome to the HP Support Community.

Thanks for reaching out about your query regarding the HP LaserJet Managed MFP E42540 series.

 

We appreciate the opportunity to assist you and are glad we could help work toward a resolution. We hope our support has been valuable.

 

Yes, HP Web Jetadmin (WJA) can push firmware files, but HP Enterprise/Managed architecture generally blocks installing an older version over a newer one via standard remote deployment tools. 

For HP LaserJet Enterprise / Managed and PageWide Enterprise / Managed (which includes models like the E42540):
 

  • If you attempt a remote downgrade via WJA, EWS, or device maintenance to a version older than FutureSmart 4, the downgrade fails and you get:
  • Control panel error 99.02.32 Downgrade error
  • Event log error 33.05.09
  • This is due to a security feature that:
  • Requires someone to be physically present at the printer to perform a downgrade.
  • Prevents HP SureStart printers from being downgraded remotely.

HP’s recommended method if a downgrade is absolutely necessary:
 

  1. Do not use WJA for the downgrade.
  2. Use the Preboot menu with a USB flash drive on each device: - Downgrade via Method three: USB flash drive – Preboot menu as described in the HP firmware update documentation.
  3. Be aware: - Downgrading resets the device to factory settings. - All solutions, stored jobs, and current settings are lost. - HP recommends using the latest firmware whenever possible.

Have a great day!

I'm an HP Employee.


If this reply helped resolve your issue, please select the Accept as Solution as it helps others in the community quickly find the answer they’re looking for.


And if you found this reply helpful, clicking Yes below is a great way to let us know we’re providing the support you need, as it encourages us to keep improving and sharing helpful guidance.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the <a href="https://www8.hp.com/us/en/terms-of-use.html" class="udrlinesmall">Terms of Use</a> and <a href="/t5/custom/page/page-id/hp.rulespage" class="udrlinesmall"> Rules of Participation</a>.
-->