Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
Check out our WINDOWS 11 Support Center info about: OPTIMIZATION, KNOWN ISSUES, FAQs, VIDEOS AND MORE.
HP Recommended

Hi

I'm new to hp forums. Recently had a new hp 15-cc546na laptop. While I was trying to use a disk clone utility all the partitions of on my hdd  got messed up 

All I could recover is the recovery partition with all the files intact .

I was just wondering if there is some way to create a bootable usb using recovery files to get my laptop OS back to original factory state?

I can install Windows 10  anew  but I assume that factory OS might be important for any warranty issues.

An expert advice is much appreciated 

7 REPLIES 7
HP Recommended

Not sure if it works on Windows 10 machines but setting the Recovery partition as Active worked on earlier OS. Once done the laptop would boot from the recovery partition and restore original OS with drivers/software and set C as Active.

Or, you can always contact HP to order Recovery Media:

https://support.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/product/hp-pavilion-15-cc500-laptop-pc/15551393/model/170339...

You will need your Serial number. It should be on the bottom of laptop and also in BIOS. Or, on the box if you still have it.

**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue**