-
×InformationNeed Windows 11 help?Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
Windows 11 Support Center. -
-
×InformationNeed Windows 11 help?Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
Windows 11 Support Center. -
- HP Community
- Notebooks
- Notebook Operating System and Recovery
- Windows 10 Update

Create an account on the HP Community to personalize your profile and ask a question
08-10-2020 04:23 AM
I upgraded my Windows 10. Windows has expanded the standard 16-20 GB storage to 32GB, My notebook has 32GB stoage. That meant I dont have sufficient storage space.
I now wish to revert back before the upgrade. How do I do that?
08-10-2020 07:40 AM
Hi:
When Windows gets updated to a new version, it creates a Windows.old folder, which is usually 10 - 20 GB.
The folder usually gets automatically deleted after 30 days.
If your notebook is running OK on the new version of Windows, you can speed up the process by deleting the windows.old folder yourself.
But if you do that, you will not be able to revert back to the previous version of W10.
If you want to delete the Windows.old folder, run the disk cleanup utility.
When the disk cleanup window opens, click on the Cleanup system files button on the lower left side of the window.
The utility will run again, and you can check all of the boxes to delete the files.
You will get a warning when it gets to the windows.old folder that if you delete it, you will not be able to revert back to an older version of windows.
If you are sure you want to proceed, ignore the warning and continue.