Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
Check out our WINDOWS 11 Support Center info about: OPTIMIZATION, KNOWN ISSUES, FAQs, VIDEOS AND MORE.
HP Recommended
Notebook-15-bs070nb
Microsoft Windows 10 (32-bit)

Hi,

I am an amateur Office programmer (VBA) and like to sign my projects with a self created certificate (Office SelfCert).

When I signed a project and want to save it, I get the pop-up "please insert smart card". As I don't have a smart card, I can only hit the cancel button but that removes my signature from the project.

How can I completely disable this pop-up?

Kind regards,

JP

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

Hi Ruben;

It looks as I solved the issue by following this: http://www.gmayor.com/create_and_employ_a_digital_cert.htm

Thanks for helping.

Kind regards,

JP

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
HP Recommended

Hi,

please follow the steps below :

Disable Smart Card Plug and Play Service

Step 1 :
Hold down the "Windows" key and press "R" to open the Run dialog. Type "gpedit.msc" at the prompt and press "Enter" to open the Local Group Policy Editor.

Step 2 :
Expand "Computer Configuration," "Administrative Templates" and "Windows Components" in the tree browser. Double-click the "Smart Card" folder in the main window.

Step 3 :