Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
HP Spectre
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I am a student and am frequently switching from laptop to tablet mode in Microsoft Word to draw something or add to my notes with my pen.

However, my touch keyboard frequently pops up after I start drawing and it messes up my placement on my document and is very annoying. I cant find any setting to allow the keyboard to only come up when clicked, please help!

Thank you in advance

2 REPLIES 2
HP Recommended

Hi! @rachelb1555, Welcome to HP forums.

I understand you have keyboard issues with your laptop.

Don't worry I'll try to help you out.

Did you make any software or hardware changes on your laptop?

Please provide the product number of your PC to assist you better.

As you mentioned you would like to know how to disable the touch keyboard in tablet mode.

Try the steps recommended below.

Click windows button on your PC.

Select Settings.

Go to Settings

Go to Devices > Typing

Scroll down and toggle off: Automatically show the touch keyboard in windowed apps when there's no keyboard attached to your device.

Here disable the keyboard and check if the issue persists.

If the issue still persists try the steps recommended below.

In Device Manager, uninstall and reinstall the keyboard software: