Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
Archived This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
HP Recommended

I am an administrator of the company. One of my user setup a BIOS administrator and forgot the password in a HP 2230s notebook. Now everytime I boot up the notebook, it only prompt me to select the BIOS administrator login or the User Login.

I have tried to remove the CMOS battery for an overnight. However it only reset the data and time but not the BIOS Administrator password. What can I do to reset the BIOS password?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

Bart.

There are no master password generators for ProBooks or EliteBooks.

You will need to contact HP.

http://www8.hp.com/us/en/contact-hp/ww-contact-us.html?jumpid=reg_r1002_usen_c-001_title_r0003

Or look at this link.

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/49497-HP-Probook-Elitebook-BIOS-Password-Reset-Utility

Or replace the BIOS chip.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-Compaq-6530b-6535b-6730b-6730s-6735b-6735s-6820s-6830s-Bios-Chip-No-Passw...

REO