-
×InformationNeed Windows 11 help?Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
Windows 11 Support Center. -
-
×InformationNeed Windows 11 help?Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
Windows 11 Support Center. -
- HP Community
- Archived Topics
- Notebooks Archive
- Re: Window Resume Loader issue: What does "delete restoratio...

Create an account on the HP Community to personalize your profile and ask a question
12-11-2011 05:13 PM
I have an EliteBook 8560w with a Windows 7 operating system. I purchased it in August of this year. Today, after turning on the computer, the computer shut off and restarted before loading completely. After logging back on (my computer is password protected) it took me to a "Windows resume loader" screen. The screen read: "The last attempt to resume the system from it's previous location failed. Attempt to resume again?" I am then given two options:
1. Continue with system resume
2. Delete restoration data and proceed to system boot menu
Choosing option (1) only repeats the earlier cycle and brings me back to the same screen. As I am entering finals week and I have many projects on this laptop, I am extremely leary of choosing an option that involves "deleting".
What does deleting restoration data actually do? Are there any other options available? Your assistance is greatly appreciated.
Will
12-12-2011 09:27 PM - edited 12-12-2011 09:28 PM
It sounds as if the laptop was in Hibernation rather than shut down before this happened. Deleting the restoration data refers to things you may have had open and was saved to memory before hibernating. Deleting it and trying to resume boot 'shouldn't' have any effect on your data, programs,etc.
**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue**
***Click the "YES" button if you think this response was helpful.***
07-04-2014 01:50 AM
Hi,
Refere the steps in the below web link.
http://informertech.com/how-to-fix-windows-resume-loader-on-windows-7/
Regards,