Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Do you need the WPS PIN to connect your printer? Click here for tips and tricks!
Get help with Large Format Printers, with direct access to all Large Format Knowledge Center· Ask anything · Find anything · Share anything at HP LKC
HP Recommended
HP DesignJet 500
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello!

I am a technician working for the United States Postal Service IT Department. I was recently assigned to work on an older HP Designjet 500 plotter printer we had at one of our sites. The Carriage Belt was shredded and I was asked to replace it. We have spares available, so I used one to repair the device, following the steps listed in the Service Manual I was able to track down on this device (in chapter 8).

Upon booting it back up, however, while it no longer displays the error message it was displaying before, now it won't work, saying that the user needs to "Close window to continue", and is otherwise unresponsive.