Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Do you need the WPS PIN to connect your printer? Click here for tips and tricks!
HP Recommended
Laserjet 4
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I have been using my Laserjet 4 for many, many years and its still working. I still have a couple of cartridges to use.

I can't seem to print from my Windows 10 laptop to this printer.

I understand the driver may no longer be available.

Looking for a fix for someone with low to medium technical computer knowledge.

Thx.

16 REPLIES 16
HP Recommended

@GStew 

Hello,

Your printer does not have drivers for Windows 10, try the following solution:

1. Turn on your printer and connect the USB cable.
  2. In the Control Panel, under Hardware and Audio. Click View Devices and Printers. The Devices and Printers window opens.
  3. Click Add Printer. The Add Printer window opens.
  4. Click Add Local Printer.
  5. Click Use an Existing Port.
  6. Click the Use Existing Port drop-down list and select DOT4_001, then click Next.
  7. Click Windows Update.
  8. Under Manufacturer in the Install Printer Driver window, click HP.
  9. Under Printers, select HP LaserJet 1020, then click Next.
  10. Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the installation.
  11. In the Devices and Printers window, right-click the HP LaserJet 1020 printer name, and then click Printer Properties.