Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
HP Gaming -17-CD0
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I am no expert but have limited ability.  Just upgraded to Win 11.  I want to reconfigure my machine so that the 1Tb SSD becomes my main, i.e. C drive with Windows and all other software loaded just using the HD for documents.

Can this be done and in very easy to follow terms what do I need to do.

Most grateful  for any help and advice.

lennythelion  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

Seems to be a plan!.  Assuming you have backups of any important info from either drive and not on either drive but on separate media, I would wipe out both drives.  Installing the OS again on the SSD should not cause any changes to the data drive but it will also not take anything off the driver, either.  That is why I suggest wiping both and starting new.

Windows should install again with no problems on the SSD and then you can install any additional software - but telling them to be installed on the data drive.  Some will ask and then you can direct them to play nice.  Others might not ask.  Also directions need to be given to each process that wants to save data, directing each to a location set up on the data drive.