Having trouble signing in? Try this!
Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-30-2016
Message 1 of 10 (1,280 Views)
Accepted Solution

Hdmi output not working

Product Name: Compaq presario cq60
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Hello people,

I have an old compaq presario cq60 and is running windows 7 64 bit.

 

The problem is that when I hook up a second monitor it does not display the screen, I can see that it is being detected but nothing happens.

I found an old post concerning the same issue but that one was locked so I started this new post because the link in that post was gone.

I hope anyone can help.

Thanks!

Reply
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Re: Hdmi output not working

Your very welcome.

View solution in context
Associate Dean
Posts: 6,985
Member Since: ‎02-03-2014
Message 2 of 10 (1,247 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

Hello terrandroid

 

Not sure I can help but will try.

Is this a computer monitor or TV that you are connecting?

Have you had it working before?

 

If you go into the nVidia Control Panel, go to Display>Change Resolution. See if the monitor is detected there. If so, change the resolution. If its on its native res, lower it (or vice versa) to see if that helps.

 

If this is a computer monitor, go into the settings on the monitor itself and make sure the correct port is selected (if you have more than one). Example: DVI and HDMI, choose HDMI.

 

Swap cables if you have more than one.

 

 

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-30-2016
Message 3 of 10 (1,241 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

Hello,
Thank you for the quick reply, it had worked before it came with windows vista preinstalled. I recently upgraded to windows 7 and thats were it stopped working. I know it has to do with the wrong graphic driver of nvidia. It has a nvidia geforce 8200m g gpu.
I found the solution on this forum but the link to that solution was dead.
Associate Dean
Posts: 6,985
Member Since: ‎02-03-2014
Message 4 of 10 (1,238 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

[ Edited ]

OK, The last know supported HP video driver for Windows 7-64bit for that model is this one...

edit See comment below!

 

 

Is that the one installed?

 

 

 

 

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-30-2016
Message 5 of 10 (1,236 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

No i haven't tried that one yet, was looking for that one. Thank you, I'm going to test it out.
Associate Dean
Posts: 6,985
Member Since: ‎02-03-2014
Message 6 of 10 (1,229 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

Terranoid,

 

Sorry, I realised now that you didnt give the full model number. CQ60-xxxx

Please give that to me so I can verify the link I gave you above before you install.

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-30-2016
Message 7 of 10 (1,222 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

It's the CQ60-130ED
Associate Dean
Posts: 6,985
Member Since: ‎02-03-2014
Message 8 of 10 (1,220 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

OK thanks.

 

This was the latest version for that model...

 

Operatiing System:  Windows 7-64bit

Version:                       8.15.11.8644 A

Release date:             Sept 25, 2009

File:                               sp45230.exe

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-30-2016
Message 9 of 10 (1,215 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

Well that did the trick! I finally got it working, thank you very much for your help.
Associate Dean
Posts: 6,985
Member Since: ‎02-03-2014
Message 10 of 10 (1,213 Views)

Re: Hdmi output not working

Your very welcome.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation