Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JesseGMX
2 1 0 0
Message 1 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Webcam stopped working correctly after KB4522741 (Cumulative Update for .NET Framework 3.5 and 4.8)

HP Pavilion x360 14-ba004la
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Hello, everybody.

I work as an online teacher and I use a virtual classroom that runs on the web browser. That platform has an button for uploading assets I can use during the class. The video call goes well until the browser loses focus or an "Open file dialog" is opened, even when such dialog is opened by another program, like Notepad; it also happens when I open a Windows Explorer window. As soon as the web browser window loses focus, the video stream stutters for a couple of seconds and then stops altogether until a few seconds after the browser regains focus. I also tried calling a relative on the web version of Google Duo (http://duo.google.com) to make sure my teaching platform was not causing the issue and the problem persisted across all the web browsers I tried.

I did a system restore to uninstall KB4522741 (Cumulative Update for .NET Framework 3.5 and 4.8) and it solved the issue. I wonder if .NET Framework is used by the webcam driver, as the issue is cross-browser. If it is, it must not be compatible with the latest .NET Framework update. Would the HP developers please look into this? It can severely affect my job and, although I have blocked the offending update, a future update can bring the problem back. Thank you in advance.
My computer specs:
> HP Pavilion x360 14-ba004la.
> Intel Core i5-7200U @ 2.71 GHz.
> 6 GB of DDR4 2133 RAM.
> Intel HD Graphics 620.
> HP Wide Vision HD Camera (Hardware ID: USB\VID_04F2&PID_B5D6&REV_3222&MI_00).
> Windows 10 1903 (OS Build 18362.476).
> Google Chrome 78 stable, Brave 1.0 stable, Firefox 70 stable.

3 REPLIES 3
HP Support Agent
HP Support Agent
21,477 21,432 1,808 2,893
Message 2 of 4
Flag Post
HP Recommended