If you reset the PC - depending on the settings and your choice - it can either keep data but will probably require password or can erase everything including Windows folder. It loads the data from an image stored on a separate hidden recovery partition stored on your HDD.
Let me know if this helps.
>> Your FEEDBACK is important. Use the interactive buttons below and let me know if the post helps << *** I work for HP *** I express personal opinion only *** HP Expert - volunteer since 2013