Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Do you need the WPS PIN to connect your printer? Click here for tips and tricks!
HP Recommended

Preaching to the choir.  Just offering workarounds when I find something that works.  I work in IT at a university and we support thousands of users.  I don't think this is sufficient, but if it can help some people, then good.

I have not personally seen this issue except on High Sierra machines with Office 2016 installed and trying to print to HP devices.  That said, I've seen the issue occur while trying to print Office documents, PDFs, web pages through a browser, even Apple apps like Keynote.

You are the first person I've found while searching this issue to report it happening with images.  You sure they didn't have some kind of text header?  Were they printed from a browser?  Doesn't seem consistent with all the posts I've read.  I don't think PDFs being printed as image would necessarily cut out all font rendering.

I do think it is just a font issue, some kind of failed interaction between the embedded fonts and rendering them to print.  PostScript fonts have 2 parts: screen version and print version.  We don't see this problem on 10.13 machines with Office 2016 that used to have Office 2011, we think because  Office 2011 actually installed fonts instead of using embedded fonts, which still exist on the system. 

HP Recommended