bmrey_7
Level 1
2 1 0 4
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post

Printer will not connect to wifi: security says no encryption

HP Recommended
OfficeJet Pro 8035

I have been using my Office Jet Pro 8035 wirelessly for about two months.  A few days ago it stopped connecting to the wifi.  The home wifi comes up as an option to connect to, but when I try to select it, it says security: no encryption, so I cannot enter the password.  I am able to print with HP wifi Direct, but it is only a short term solution, as it will be an issue with my instant ink subscription.   I have tried resetting the network settings, but either they didn't reset (I'm not sure how to check) or for some other reason, it didn't work.  I still got the "security: no encryption" when I attempted to use the set up wizard.

5 REPLIES 5
Riddle_Decipher
HP Support Agent
HP Support Agent
31,166 31,117 2,612 3,966
Message 2 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

@bmrey_7 Welcome to HP Community!

HP Printers do not work on or connect to public networks, I suggest you connect to a private network and check if that works,

Also, if it doesn't work on a private network, here's what you need to do:

The below article explains how to reconnect a previously installed wireless printer to the network if you changed your Internet Service Provider (ISP) or purchased a new router. When you change network settings such as the network name and password, you must also reconfigure the printer for those new settings.

NOTE: 

When troubleshooting a connection to your wireless network, make sure you are connecting your printer to the router and not a wireless extender.

FOR DETAILS & FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS, USE THIS LINK: CLICK HERE

(By the end of this article all the issues should be resolved)

Let me know how that pans out,

If you feel I was helpful, simply click on Accept as Solution to help the community grow,

That said, I will have someone follow-up on this to ensure you've been helped,