Highlighted
1 0 0 0
Message 1 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Whining sound.

Pavilion TP01-0026na Desktop
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)
Just received a HP Pavilion TP01-0026na Desktop, that I bought from HP. It makes an almost constant whining sound. The whining sound produced by my HP Pavilion TP01-0026na Desktop is especially noticeable / irritating when the surroudings are quiet. Even my Dad (aged 78) with poor hearing, can hear this whining sound. My old HP Pavilion Slimline Desktop never made such a sound, and in comparison always seemed almost completely quiet. Furthemore, I don't game.
If I had known that this whining sound would occur, I would not have bought it.
Are your computers not tested for such sounds before they leave the factory?
Please help, with simple instructions, as I have limited knowledge regarding computers?
Perth, Scotland (constituent country), UK.

Update: It seems to have quietened down. Though it was quite loud for about 1.5 days.

Further Update: The whining seems to have returned.
1 REPLY 1
Highlighted
HP Support Agent
HP Support Agent
2,719 2,721 120 210
Message 2 of 2
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Whining sound.

@Thomas5624 Welcome to HP Community!

I understand that you are getting Whining sound from the laptop.

No worries as I'd love to help, however, I need a few more details to provide an accurate solution:

Did you update the BIOS?

Does the noise appear when booting into windows or while you play any specific game, video, etc?

I have a few recommendations:

• Updating your Notebook computer BIOS
  • Keeping notebook air vents clear and clean
  • Increasing the efficiency of the notebook to reduce heat
  • Using Windows Task Manager to identify corrupt processes
  • Selecting power saves settings to shut off your computer when it is not in use

For more details: Click here

And here's a related post that has helped others with similar issues: Click here
(though the header is different, the steps will help fix the issue).